Courses


Course Descriptions

Introduction to Statistics – MATH 1401

Description

A course in basic statistics. Topics include descriptive statistics, probability, distributions, hypothesis testing, inferences, correlation, and regression.


Name Office Phone Email
Dawit Aberra Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199aberrad@fvsu.edu
Sanjeev Arora Fort Valley State University
478-825-6981Aroras@fvsu.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Janis Carthon Albany State University
229-430-4158janis.carthon@asurams.edu
Shadreck Chitsonga Fort Valley State University
478-825-6999chitsongas@fvsu.edu
Gyuheui Choi ATLM
gchoi@atlm.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu Albany State University
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528chenderson5@mail.clayton.edu
Richard Kilburn Middle Georgia State University
478-929-6701richard.kilburn@mga.edu
Sujin Kim Savannah State University
912-358-4302kims@savannahstate.edu
Gregory Knofczynski University of West Georgia
912-344-2716greg.knofczynski@armstrong.edu
Joshua Lambert Georgia Southern University
912-344-3127joshualambert@georgiasouthern.edu
Carol Love University of North Georgia
carol.love@ung.edu
Kecia May University of West Georgia
678-723-8098kmay@westga.edu
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Gary Nelson Georgia Gwinnett College
678-691-7458gnelson@ggc.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Camille Pace Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8127cpace@highlands.edu
Sonal Patel University of West Georgia
678-839-4123spatel@westga.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Kishore Pradhan South Georgia State College
kishore.pradhan@sgsc.edu
Blanche Presley Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8619blanche.presley@mga.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Latriece Tanksley Savannah State University
912-358-3296tanksleyl@savannahstate.edu
Taylor Wars Albany State University
229-317-6883taylor.wars@asurams.edu
Karen Watson Fort Valley State University
478-953-7693watsonk@fvsu.edu
Mohammad Yazdani University of West Georgia
678-839-4132myazdani@westga.edu
Jianmin Zhu Fort Valley State University
478-827-3067zhuj@fvsu.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify and apply appropriate methods of data collection.
  • Effectively communicate quantitative concepts and results.
  • Use graphical and numeric techniques to describe data.
  • Develop an understanding of the concept of probability and the relationship of probability and statistics.
  • Develop an understanding of the various probability distributions.
  • Use the appropriate method for estimating values of population parameters.
  • Use the appropriate method to test population parameters.
  • Use appropriate technology to determine whether a linear relationship exists between two variables.
  • Extract quantitative data from a given situation, translate the data, evaluate information, abstract essential information, make logical deductions, and arrive at reasonable conclusions.
  • Unit 01 - Sampling and Descriptive Statistics
    • Lesson 01 - Sampling and Types of Data
    • Lesson 02 - Graphical Summaries for Qualitative Data
    • Lesson 03 - Frequency Distributions and their Graphs
    • Lesson 04 - Measures of Center
    • Lesson 05 - Measures of Spread
    • Lesson 06 - Measures of Position
  • Unit 02 - Probability and Random Variables
    • Lesson 07 - Basic Ideas in Probability
    • Lesson 08 - The Addition Rule and The Rule of Complements
    • Lesson 09 - Conditional Probability and The Multiplication Rule
    • Lesson 10 - Random Variables
    • Lesson 11 - The Binomial Distribution
    • Lesson 12 - The Standard Normal Curve
    • Lesson 13 - Applications of The Normal Distribution
  • Unit 03 - The Central Limit Theorem and Confidence Intervals
    • Lesson 14 - Sampling Distributions and The Central Limit Theorem
    • Lesson 15 - The Central Limit Theorem for Proportions
    • Lesson 16 - Confidence Intervals for a Population Mean, Standard Deviation Known
    • Lesson 17 - Confidence Intervals for a Population Mean, Standard Deviation Unknown
    • Lesson 18 - Confidence Interval for a Population Proportion
  • Unit 04 - Hypothesis Testing and Summarizing Bivariate Data
    • Lesson 19 - Basic Principles of Hypothesis Testing
    • Lesson 20 - Hypothesis Tests for a Population Mean, Standard Deviation Known
    • Lesson 21 - Hypothesis Tests for a Population Mean, Standard Deviation Unknown
    • Lesson 22 - Hypothesis Tests for Proportions
    • Lesson 23 - Correlation and The Least-Squares Regression Line

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Quizzes - 10%
  • Online Exams - 45%
  • Discussion and Participation - 5%
  • * Midterm - 20%
  • * Final - 20%

TI-83 Plus or TI-84 Plus Graphing Calculator

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top