Courses


Course Descriptions

Survey of US History II - HIST 2112

Description

History 2112 explores the major themes and issues in American history from the end of the Civil War to the present. Emphasizes the political, social, economic, and cultural dimensions of United States history; causal relationships and patterns of change and continuity over time; and the significance of ethnicity, gender, race, and class in historical events.


Name Office Phone Email
Marshall Abuwi Augusta University
706-737-1745mabuwi@augusta.edu
Harry Akoh Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4716hakoh@atlm.edu
Robert Bob Bouwman University of North Georgia
864-944-2320robert.bouwman@ung.edu
Ted Butler Albany State University
229-317-6807edward.butler@asurams.edu
Jody Klann University of North Georgia
jkklann@yahoo.com
Alex Lega University of North Georgia
alex.lega@ung.edu
Russell Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
0rpryor@abac.edu
Jodie Talley Knapton University of North Georgia
jodie.knapton@ung.edu
Jessica Taylor-Lewis University of North Georgia
678-717-3627jessica.taylor@ung.edu
Seth Weitz Dalton State College
706-272-2688sweitz@daltonstate.edu
Kurt Windisch University of North Georgia
windkurtis@gmail.com
Montgomery Wolf University of Georgia
706-542-2053mwolf@uga.edu
Elizabeth Worley Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
eworley@abac.edu
Matthew Zimmerman Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2862matthew.zimmerman@mga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify, evaluate, and analyze the major controversies, issues, personalities, problems, and trends in U.S. history since 1865.]
  • Recognize the role of diversity in American society and culture.Appraise how and why the historical interpretations of controversies, issues, personalities, and problems have changed over time.
  • Place issues and events of U.S. History in a local, regional, national, and global context.Generate a carefully constructed and persuasive historical interpretation, using primary and secondary sources, that shows understanding of the developments and contributions across intellectual, political, and/or cultural boundaries.Analyze the extent to which historical and contemporary American society has embraced the ideals of the U.S. Constitution.
  • Apply geography to the understanding of history and historical events.

The following units are covered in this course:

  • Unit 1: Reconstruction and Westward Expansion
  • Unit 2: Labor, Urbanization, and Politics in an Industrial Era
  • Unit 3: Reform and Expansion at the Turn of the Twentieth Century
  • Unit 4: The Great War and the Roarin' Twenties
  • Unit 5: The Great Depression and New Deal
  • Unit 6: World War II and the Cold War
  • Unit 7: The End of the Cold War

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation & Discussions - 30%
  • Quizzes - 20%
  • Reflection Exercises - 5%
  • Essays & Assignments - 20%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam - 10%
  • Final Project - 15%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top