Courses


Course Descriptions

American Government – POLS 1101

Description

A study of government and politics, including the philosophical and constitutional foundations, governing institutions, political behavior and major public policy issues. This course satisfies the State legislative requirement concerning the United States Constitution and the Georgia Constitution.


Name Office Phone Email
Maria Albo University of North Georgia
706-864-1782maria.albo@ung.edu
Daniel Baracskay Valdosta State University
229-333-7155dbaracskay@valdosta.edu
Mikhail Beznosov University of West Georgia
678-839-6504mbeznosov@westga.edu
Geoffrey Bowden Savannah State University
912-358-3205bowdeng@savannahstate.edu
Bruce Carroll Georgia Gwinnett College
229-333-2169bcarroll2@ggc.edu
Sheikh Drammeh University of West Georgia
770-316-2043sdrammeh@westga.edu
Meigan Fields Fort Valley State University
478-825-6684fieldsm@fvsu.edu
Verna Foster Harvey Valdosta State University
229-333-5771vfharvey@valdosta.edu
Dion George Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-2748dgeorge@atlm.edu
Vance Gray Atlanta Metropolitan State College
678-623-1293vgray@atlm.edu
Rufus Green Fort Valley State University
478-825-6230greenr@fvsu.edu
Janet Gubbins University of West Georgia
678-839-0630jgubbins@westga.edu
Baogang Guo Dalton State College
706-272-2678bguo@daltonstate.edu
Matthew Hipps Dalton State College
706-272-2676mhipps@daltonstate.edu
Stephanie Hulsey University of North Georgia
706-878-6052stephanie.hulsey@ung.edu
Chux Ibekwe Savannah State University
912-358-3289ibekwec@savannahstate.edu
Austin Janowski University of West Georgia
678-839-5326austinj@westga.edu
Shobana Jayaraman Savannah State University
912-358-3286jayaramans@savannahstate.edu
Ulrica Jones Gordon State College
478-225-3321drulrica@gmail.com
Sarah Kuck Albany State University
229-317-6805Sarah.Kuck@asurams.edu
Roger Marietta Albany State University
229-317-6808roger.marietta@asurams.edu
Brad Mock University of West Georgia
404-488-1589bmock@westga.edu
Stephen Northam University of North Georgia
317-501-4659Stephen.Northam@ung.edu
Dustin Procter University of North Georgia
210-633-7483dustin.procter@ung.edu
Thomas E. Rotnem Kennesaw State University
678-915-7523trotnem@kennesaw.edu
Paul Rutledge University of West Georgia
678-839-4997prutledg@westga.edu
Azamat Sakiev University of North Georgia
706-864-1699azamat.sakiev@ung.edu
Hans E. Schmeisser Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
220-391-5077hschmeisser@abac.edu
Elizabeth Taylor Clayton State University
678-466-4113elizabethtaylor@clayton.edu
Joseph "Joe" Trachtenberg Clayton State University
404-376-8032joetrachtenberg@clayton.edu
Raluca Viman Miller University of North Georgia
706-867-4525raluca.viman-miller@ung.edu
Jack Waskey Dalton State College
706-272-2691jwaskey@daltonstate.edu
Tony Wege College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5875twege@ccga.edu
Robert Wilkes Jr. Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-2747rwilkes@atlm.edu
Felita Willliams University of North Georgia
770-209-9196felita.williams@usg.edu
Kathleen Woodward University of North Georgia
678-468-0336kathleen.woodward@ung.edu
Laura Young Georgia Gwinnett College
470-217-5921lyoung6@ggc.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • None

Textbook


Course Equivalency

Course Syllabus

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Demonstrate a knowledge of the historical background, foundations, origins, content, and application of the U. S. Constitution and the Bill of Rights.
  • Demonstrate a knowledge of the Georgia Constitution.
  • Identify the Institutions and processes of the three branches of government.
  • Develop an awareness of current political issues and the policy making process, both domestic and global.
  • Analyze the nature of Democratic politics in terms of political behavior (e.g. ideology, public opinion) and linking institutions (e.g. parties, interest groups, media).
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the cause and effect relationships in society.
  • Recognize differing perspectives and points of view.
  • Construct and analyze arguments.
  • Lesson 1 - Democratic Government and the U.S. Constitution
  • Lesson 2 - Federalism and the Georgia Constitution
  • Lesson 3 - Media, Socialization, and Public Opinion
  • Lesson 4 - Political Participation, Campaigns, and Political Parties
  • Lesson 5 – Congress
  • Lesson 6 - Presidency and Bureaucracy
  • Lesson 7 - The Judiciary, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties
  • Lesson 8 - Political Issues and Policymaking

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Discussions and Participation – 30%
  • Quizzes – 20%
  • Writing Assignments – 20%
  • Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final Exam – 15%
Back to Top