Courses


Course Descriptions

American Literature I - ENGL 2131

Description

This course surveys American Literature from the Pre-Colonial Period through the mid-nineteenth century. It begins with the Age of European Exploration and interaction with Native American cultures and continues through the 18th century Enlightenment, the American Renaissance, and the Romantic movement, ending with the beginning of American Realism.

The literature is studied within the context of history and culture and with an emphasis on literary periods. Students will utilize various critical approaches and reading strategies as they examine important authors and themes of these periods.


Name Office Phone Email
Richard Baskin Gordon State College
678-359-5222rbaskin@gordonstate.edu
Amy Berke Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5739amy.berke@mga.edu
Tara Causey University of North Georgia
410-726-3546Tara.Causey@ung.edu
Jason Dew Georgia State University - Perimeter College
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Jonathan Elmore Savannah State University
912-358-3348elmorej@savannahstate.edu
Cyndy Hall Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4955chall@abac.edu
Gwendolyn Harold Clayton State University
678-466-4735gwendolynharold@clayton.edu
Stephanie Kartalopoulos Savannah State University
912-358-3322karts@savannahstate.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
John Marinan Georgia Gwinnett College
678-407-5601jmarinan@ggc.edu
Dustin Michael Savannah State University
912-306-4902michaeld@savannahstate.edu
Joseph "Joe" Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Kari Miller Georgia Perimeter College-Clarkston
678-891-7514kmiller58@gsu.edu
Phillip Mitchell University of North Georgia
470-310-6313phillip.mitchell@ung.edu
Clay Morton Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5750clay.morton@mga.edu
Neesha Navare Savannah State University
912-358-3325navaren@savannahstate.edu
Jennifer Parrott Clayton State University
678-466-4748JenniferParrott@clayton.edu
Rachael Price Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
rprice@abac.edu
Michele Rozga Savannah State University
912-358-3343rozgam@savannahstate.edu
Kevin Scott Albany State University
229-430-4689kevin.scott@asurams.edu
Herbert Shippey Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4954hshippey@abac.edu
LaJuan Simpson-Wilkey Clayton State University
678-466-4558lajuansimpson-wilkey@clayton.edu
Elizabeth Lee Steere University of West Georgia
678-839-6512esteere@westga.edu
William Teem University of West Georgia
0wteem@westga.edu
Barbara Warren Valdosta State University
229-333-5946bnwarren@valdosta.edu
Timothy Whelan Georgia Southern University
912-478-0871timwhel@georgiasouthern.edu
Ashleigh Whelan Georgia Perimeter College
404-694-9042Ashleigh.is.scissors@gmail.com
Paul Wise University of West Georgia
678-839-6512pmwise@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook

  • No textbook. Readings are embedded inside the course.

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Identify the genres, major writers and important schools in American literature from the pre-colonial era to the opening volleys of the Civil War.
  • Summarize, interpret, and infer hypotheses regarding selected texts.
  • Use and extend reading, writing, technological, and critical thinking skills developed in ENGL 1101 and ENGL 1102.
  • Identify the cultural factors that shaped American literature and define the common concerns of humanity as expressed through literature.
  • Unit 1: Introduction to course
  • Unit 2: Pre-Colonial America and Colonial Settlements
  • Unit 3: Toward a National Literature
  • Unit 4: The American Renaissance: Romanticism and Transcendentalism
  • Unit 5: Nineteenth Century Critical Perspectives

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Discussions/Participation – 25%
  • Unit Quizzes – 10%
  • Writing Summary – 5%
  • Focused Annotated Bibliography – 15%
  • Final Researched Essay – 20%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final Exam– 10%
Back to Top