Courses


Course Descriptions

American Literature II – ENGL 2132

Description

A survey of American literature from the mid nineteenth century to the present.


Name Office Phone Email
Amy Berke Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5739amy.berke@mga.edu
Rob Bleil College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5986rbleil@ccga.edu
Stacy Boyd University of West Georgia
678-839-4851sboyd@westga.edu
Erin Caldwell University of North Georgia
706-864-1775erin.caldwell@ung.edu
Tara Causey University of North Georgia
410-726-3546Tara.Causey@ung.edu
Jim Cope Kennesaw State University
470-578-3626jcope@kennesaw.edu
Jenny Crisp Dalton State College
706-272-2513jcrisp@daltonstate.edu
Jonathan Elmore Savannah State University
912-358-3348elmorej@savannahstate.edu
Cyndy Hall Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4955chall@abac.edu
Gwendolyn Harold Clayton State University
678-466-4735gwendolynharold@clayton.edu
Todd Hoffman Augusta University
706-667-4449thoffma1@augusta.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Dustin Michael Savannah State University
912-306-4902michaeld@savannahstate.edu
Joseph "Joe" Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Kari Miller Georgia Perimeter College-Clarkston
678-891-7514kmiller58@gsu.edu
Phillip Mitchell University of North Georgia
470-310-6313phillip.mitchell@ung.edu
Neesha Navare Savannah State University
912-358-3325navaren@savannahstate.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Jennifer Parrott Clayton State University
678-466-4748JenniferParrott@clayton.edu
Austin Riede University of North Georgia
naAustin.Riede@ung.edu
Virginia Russell Georgia Southern University
912-536-3964va.russell@hotmail.com
Kevin Scott Albany State University
229-430-4689kevin.scott@asurams.edu
Matthew Sherling University of West Georgia
770-833-7163msherlin@westga.edu
Herbert Shippey Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4954hshippey@abac.edu
Barbara Warren Valdosta State University
229-333-5946bnwarren@valdosta.edu
Ashleigh Whelan Georgia Perimeter College
404-694-9042Ashleigh.is.scissors@gmail.com
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Identify and apply a variety of critical approaches to literature.
  • Identify the important literary periods and themes of American Literature from the mid-19th Century to the present.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of a diversity of American cultures through the study of literature.
  • Apply various reading strategies to text in order to summarize, synthesize, analyze, interpret, and evaluate the literature.
  • Write a paper on a topic in American literature using MLA style and a variety of sources that shows original thought, research, and an ability to assimilate and synthesize the ideas of others on the topic.
  • Enhance technological skills.
  • Unit 1 – Romanticism: Whitman and Dickinson
  • Unit 2 – The Frontier I
  • Unit 3 – The Frontier II
  • Unit 4 – Realism and Naturalism I
  • Unit 5 – Realism and Naturalism II
  • Unit 6 – Modernism I
  • Unit 7 – Modernism II
  • Unit 8 – Postmodernism I
  • Unit 9 – Postmodernism II
  • Unit 10 – Contemporary Trends

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Discussions and Participation – 25%
  • Researched Essay – 25%
  • Response Papers and Annotated Bibliography – 20% (5% each)
  • Midterm Essay Exam – 15%
  • Final Essay Exam – 15%
Back to Top