Courses


Course Descriptions

Art Appreciation - ARTS 1100

Description

ARTS 1100 is a 3 semester-credit-hour course focused on fostering an awareness, understanding, and appreciation for the visual arts. Through exposure to cross-cultural art images throughout history, students will build a global artistic vocabulary that allows for the constructive analysis of art objects. Students will also gain an understanding of the influence of art on other important aspects of culture including politics, history, religion, and science


Name Office Phone Email
Molly Breckling University of West Georgia
678-839-2432mbreckli@westga.edu
Justin Carteret Gordon State College
jcarteret@gordonstate.edu
Thomas Heflin Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5253theflin@abac.edu
Joel Johnson Albany State University
229-420-7029Joel.Johnson@asurams.edu
Rebecca Johnston University of North Georgia
rebecca.johnston@ung.edu
Jeffrey Kluball Albany State University
229-317-6856jeffrey.kluball@asurams.edu
Mark Laughlin Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2250mark.laughlin@gsw.edu
Luca Lombardi University of North Georgia
706-864-1423luca.lombardi@ung.edu
Harry Nelson University of West Georgia
678-839-4903hnelson@westga.edu
Masoud Nourizadeh Gordon State College
namnourizadeh@gordonstate.edu
Robert Plato Gordon State College
splato@gordonstate.edu
Slava Prudchenko Georgia State University - Perimeter College
678-729-7089sprudchenko@gsu.edu
Benjamin Schoening University of North Georgia
678-717-3676Benjamin.Schoening@ung.edu
Amanda Sepulveda Georgia Gwinnett College
678-471-5000asepulveda@ggc.edu
Mike Weaver University of North Georgia
706-632-2081mweaver@fannin.k12.ga.us
John Wilborn University of West Georgia
jwilborn@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

Course Syllabus

In this course, students will:

  • Demonstrate an understanding and appreciation of art, its production, function/purpose, and aesthetics as a significant form of human expression, within its social, cultural, and historical context
  • Use appropriate vocabulary to critique and analyze formal elements, techniques, and concepts of art
  • Engage in critical thinking about art by distinguishing between and evaluating various kinds of evidence, and presenting valid arguments in written formats
  • Unit 1: What is Art?
  • Unit 2: The Structure of Art
  • Unit 3: Significance of Materials Used in Art
  • Unit 4: Describing Art
  • Unit 5: Meaning in Art
  • Unit 6: Connecting Art to Our Lives
  • Unit 7: Form in Architecture
  • Unit 8: Art and Identity
  • Unit 9: Art and Power
  • Unit 10: Art and Ritual Life
  • Unit 11: Art and Ethics

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications. The total equals 600 points

  • 5 Tests (30 Points each) - 150 Points
  • 6 Discussions (15 Point each) - 90 Points
  • 6 Assignments (10 Points each) - 60 Points
  • Midterm - 100 Points
  • Final Exam - 100 Points
  • Project - 100 Points
Back to Top