Courses


Course Descriptions

Art Appreciation - ARTS 1100

Description

ARTS 1100 is a 3 semester-credit-hour course focused on fostering an awareness, understanding, and appreciation for the visual arts. Through exposure to cross-cultural art images throughout history, students will build a global artistic vocabulary that allows for the constructive analysis of art objects. Students will also gain an understanding of the influence of art on other important aspects of culture including politics, history, religion, and science


Name Office Phone Email
David Babb University of North Georgia
706-867-2522David.Babb@ung.edu
Peggy Blood Savannah State University
912-897-2833bloodp@savannahstate.edu
Victoria Cooke University of North Georgia
678-717-3438victoria.cooke@ung.edu
Sally Crouse Georgia Gwinnett College
scrouse@ggc.edu
Chris Dockery University of North Georiga
706-864-1425Chris.Dockery@ung.edu
Perry Kirk University of West Georgia
770-639-0494pkirk@westga.edu
Stacy Koffman University of North Georgia
stacy.koffman@ung.edu
David Koffman University of North Georgia
david.koffman@ung.edu
Michael Mallard Albany State University
michael.mallard@asurams.edu
Casey McGuire University of West Georgia
0cmcguire@westga.edu
Masoud Nourizadeh Gordon State College
namnourizadeh@gordonstate.edu
Ana Pozzi Harris University of North Georgia
ana.pozzi@ung.edu
Ashan Pridgon University of West Georgia
apridgon@westga.edu
Clint Samples University of West Georgia
678-839-4949csamples@westga.edu
Nisha Shanghavi University of North Georgia
Nisha.Shanghavi@ung.edu
Mark Watson Clayton State University
678-699-2772markwatson@clayton.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

Course Syllabus

In this course, students will:

  • Demonstrate an understanding and appreciation of art, its production, function/purpose, and aesthetics as a significant form of human expression, within its social, cultural, and historical context
  • Use appropriate vocabulary to critique and analyze formal elements, techniques, and concepts of art
  • Engage in critical thinking about art by distinguishing between and evaluating various kinds of evidence, and presenting valid arguments in written formats
  • Unit 1: What is Art?
  • Unit 2: The Structure of Art
  • Unit 3: Significance of Materials Used in Art
  • Unit 4: Describing Art
  • Unit 5: Meaning in Art
  • Unit 6: Connecting Art to Our Lives
  • Unit 7: Form in Architecture
  • Unit 8: Art and Identity
  • Unit 9: Art and Power
  • Unit 10: Art and Ritual Life
  • Unit 11: Art and Ethics

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications. The total equals 600 points

  • Unit Discussions - 25%
  • Writing Assignments - 25%
  • Quizzes - 25%
  • Midterm Exam - 12.5%
  • Final Exam - 12.5%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top