Courses


Course Descriptions

Calculus I - MATH 1501

Description

This course includes material on functions, limits, continuity, the derivative, anti-differentiation, the definite integral, and techniques of integration.


Name Office Phone Email
Dawit Aberra Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199aberrad@fvsu.edu
Allison W. Arnold University of Georgia
706-542-2645awarnold@uga.edu
James "Jim" Bellon University of West Georgia
678-839-4140jbellon@westga.edu
Solomon Betanga Gordon State College
678-359-5891sbetanga@gordonstate.edu
Robert Burnham University of West Georgia
rburnham@westga.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu Albany State University
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Malcom Devoe University of West Georgia
678-768-4692mdevoe@westga.edu
Raghu Gompa Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4491rgompa@atlm.edu
Michael Hammock Middle Georgia State University
Michael.hammock@mga.edu
Abdollah Khodkar University of West Georgia
678-839-4126akhodkar@westga.edu
Joshua Lambert Georgia Southern University
912-344-3127joshualambert@georgiasouthern.edu
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Hyounkyun Oh Savannah State University
912-358-4301hoh@savannahstate.edu
Floyd Vince Postell Dalton State College
706-272-4419vpostell@daltonstate.edu
Blanche Presley Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8619blanche.presley@mga.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Lila Roberts Clayton State University
678-466-4404lilaroberts@clayton.edu
Lawrence Ssebaggala Dalton State College
lssebaggala@daltonstate.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Georgia Southern University
912-344-2929mtiemeyer@georgiasouthern.edu
Patcharin Tragoonsirisak-Marion Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199tragoonsirisakp@fvsu.edu
Taylor Wars Albany State University
229-317-6883taylor.wars@asurams.edu
David Williams Clayton State University
678-466-4429davidwilliams@clayton.edu
Sandra Xhumari Dalton State College
706-272-2169sxhumari@daltonstate.edu
Mohammad Yazdani University of West Georgia
678-839-4132myazdani@westga.edu
4

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

Limits and Continuity :

  • Calculate and evaluate limits and represent these concepts graphically, algebraically, numerically and in words.
  • Apply knowledge of limits and continuity to analyze and solve real-world problems.
  • Determine when the use of technology is appropriate for solving problems related to limits and continuity, and how to apply the technology.

Derivatives and Differentiation :

  • Explain the definition of derivative and how it is related to tangent lines and rates of change, and to compute derivatives from the limit definition.
  • Compute derivatives using all of the standard rules, displaying, in particular, a strong mastery of the Chain Rule.
  • Compute derivatives of trigonometric functions and compute closely related trigonometric limits.
  • Explain the concept of an implicitly defined function, and use the technique of implicit differentiation to differentiate functions that are defined implicitly.
  • Model and solve related rates problems.

Applications of the Derivative :

  • Solve problems related to rates of change.
  • Identify and describe properties of functions and their graphs.
  • Apply the properties of functions and their graphs to real life problem situations.

Integration :

  • Calculate anti-derivatives by using some basic rules.
  • Evaluate anti-derivatives using the substitution technique.
  • Define the definite integral.
  • Evaluate a few definite integrals using the definition as a limit of Riemann sums.
  • State the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus.
  • Apply the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus to evaluate definite integral.
  • Unit 1: The Limit of a Function
  • Unit 2: Limit Laws and Continuity
  • Unit 3: Introduction to Derivatives
  • Unit 4: Advanced Derivatives
  • Unit 5: Applications of Derivative 1
  • Unit 6: Applications of Derivative 2
  • Unit 7: Antiderivatives and the Definite Integral
  • Unit 8: Integration

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions - 5%
  • Homework - 5%
  • Quizzes - 10%
  • Online Exams - 40%
  • * Midterm Exam - 20%
  • * Final Exam - 20%

You will need access to one of the following graphing calculators to complete the activities in MATH 1501: TI-83 or TI-84 with computer cable or TI-83 Plus or TI-84 Plus. 
It is also important to note that you will be required to submit your worked examples -hand written or produced in Word- for the Online Exams. For that reason, you must have access to some type of recording device to capture and submit your work:

  • Microsoft Word to demonstrate your work in a text format or
  • Digital camera, phone camera, scanner or webcam to submit a photo copy of your hand-written work.

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top