Courses


Course Descriptions

College Algebra - MATH 1111

Description

This course provides an in-depth study of the properties of algebraic, exponential and logarithmic functions as needed for calculus. Emphasis is on using algebraic and graphical techniques for solving problems involving linear, quadratic, piece-wise defined, rational, polynomial, exponential and logarithmic functions.


Name Office Phone Email
Abdelkader Agoun University of West Georgia
678-839-4141aagoun@westga.edu
Alicia Lisa Alexander University of North Georgia
404-849-7005Alicia.Alexander@ung.edu
Sandra Anderson Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8101sanderso@highlands.edu
Sanjeev Arora Fort Valley State University
478-825-6981Aroras@fvsu.edu
Agegnehu Atena Savannah State University
912-655-0651atenaa@savannahstate.edu
Scott Bailey Clayton State University
678-466-4447scottbailey@clayton.edu
James "Jim" Bellon University of West Georgia
678-839-4140jbellon@westga.edu
Duane Benson South Georgia State College
912-381-0385duane.benson@sgsc.edu
Solomon Betanga Gordon State College
678-359-5891sbetanga@gordonstate.edu
Denise Natasha Brewley Georgia Gwinnett College
404-734-1268dnbrewley@gmail.com
Theresa Butori University of North Georgia
706-867-2520theresa.butori@ung.edu
Carrie Carmack University of West Georgia
678-839-5408ccarmack@westga.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Ronald Chilluffo University of West Georgia
678-839-5544rchilluf@westga.edu
Shadreck Chitsonga Fort Valley State University
478-825-6999chitsongas@fvsu.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Steve Davis Middle Georgia State University
478-250-3759steve.davis@mga.edu
Josephine D. Davis Fort Valley State University
478-825-6610davisj@fvsu.edu
Glynnis DeRenzo Kennesaw State University
470-578-6207gbw3145@kennesaw.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu Albany State University
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Scarlett Erb Fort Valley State University
serb@fvsu.edu
Becky Griffin South Georgia State College
912-449-7566Becky.Griffin@sgsc.edu
Charles Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528chenderson5@mail.clayton.edu
Luba Ibrahim Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8544librahim@highlands.edu
Avijit Kar Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5107akar@abac.edu
Richard Kilburn Middle Georgia State University
478-929-6701richard.kilburn@mga.edu
Paula Krone Georgia Gwinnett College
678-516-5885pkrone@ggc.edu
Joris Kwakye University of West Georgia
678-839-6489jkwakye@westga.edu
Joshua Lambert Armstrong State University
912-344-3127joshua.lambert@armstrong.edu
Patti Lord Bainbridge State College
229-220-5733plord@bainbridge.edu
Suzie Lusk Clayton State University
678-359-5463slusk@clayton.edu
Robert McCurdy Georgia Highlands College
rnmccurdy@aol.com
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Debbie Morgan Kennesaw State University
770-842-7671dmorgan2@kennesaw.edu
Tilahun Muche Savannah State University
912-358-4305muchet@savannahstate.edu
Mihaela Munday Savannah State University
912-358-4216mundaym@savannahstate.edu
Masoud Naghedolfeizi Fort Valley State University
478-825-6612feizim@fvsu.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Hyounkyun Oh Savannah State University
912-358-4301hoh@savannahstate.edu
Sonal Patel University of West Georgia
678-839-4123spatel@westga.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Karen R. Rollins University of West Georgia
678-839-0695krollins@westga.edu
Barry Rollins University of West Georgia
770-328-0202brollins@westga.edu
Robert John Seppala Valdosta State University
229-333-5778rjseppal@valdosta.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Carrie Thielemier University of West Georgia
678-839-5408cthielem@westga.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Armstrong State University
912-344-2929michael.tiemeyer@armstrong.edu
Jacqueline Varnell Georgia Southern University
912-739-3658jvarnell@georgiasouthern.edu
Steven Wallace Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8624steven.wallace@mga.edu
Wesley Whitehead Bainbridge State College
334-596-3103wesley.whitehead@bainbridge.edu
Stanley Williams Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8099swilliam@highlands.edu
Mary Wolfe Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2063mary.wolfe@mga.edu
James Woods Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-788-4290jwoods7@hotmail.com
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify sets of numbers.
  • Solve a variety of equations, inequalities, and systems of equations.
  • Define the concept of function.
  • Analyze and sketch graphs of polynomial, rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions including transformations.
  • Use appropriate technology to solve problems.
  • Lesson 1 - Review of Real Numbers and their Properties
  • Lesson 2 - Exponents and Radicals
  • Lesson 3 - Polynomials, Special Products and Factoring
  • Lesson 4 - Operations with Rational Expressions
  • Lesson 5 - Linear Equations in One Unknown with Applications
  • Lesson 6 - Complex Numbers and Quadratic Equations
  • Lesson 7 - Linear Inequalities with One Unknown
  • Lesson 8 - Polynomial and Rational Inequalities
  • Lesson 9 - The Cartesian Plane and Circles
  • Lesson 10 - Relations, Functions, and Their Graphs
  • Lesson 11 - Linear Functions of a Single Variable with Applications
  • Lesson 12 - Systems of Equations and Applications
  • Lesson 13 - Quadratic Functions
  • Lesson 14 - Polynomial and Rational Functions
  • Lesson 15 - Exponential and Logarithmic Functions

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 5%
  • Quizzes – 15%
  • Tests (4) – 40%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam – 20%
  • Proctored Final Exam – 20%

You will need access to a graphing calculator. The TI-83, TI-83 plus, or TI-84-plus graphing calculator is highly recommended.

Back to Top