Courses


Course Descriptions

College Algebra - MATH 1111

Description

This course provides an in-depth study of the properties of algebraic, exponential and logarithmic functions as needed for calculus. Emphasis is on using algebraic and graphical techniques for solving problems involving linear, quadratic, piece-wise defined, rational, polynomial, exponential and logarithmic functions.


Name Office Phone Email
Abdelkader Agoun University of West Georgia
678-839-4141aagoun@westga.edu
Alicia Lisa Alexander University of North Georgia
404-849-7005Alicia.Alexander@ung.edu
Sandra Anderson Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8101sanderso@highlands.edu
Sanjeev Arora Fort Valley State University
478-825-6981Aroras@fvsu.edu
Agegnehu Atena Savannah State University
912-655-0651atenaa@savannahstate.edu
Scott Bailey Clayton State University
678-466-4447scottbailey@clayton.edu
James "Jim" Bellon University of West Georgia
678-839-4140jbellon@westga.edu
Duane Benson South Georgia State College
912-381-0385duane.benson@sgsc.edu
Solomon Betanga Gordon State College
678-359-5891sbetanga@gordonstate.edu
Denise Natasha Brewley Georgia Gwinnett College
404-734-1268dnbrewley@gmail.com
Theresa Butori University of North Georgia
706-867-2520theresa.butori@ung.edu
Carrie Carmack University of West Georgia
678-839-5408ccarmack@westga.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Ronald Chilluffo University of West Georgia
678-839-5544rchilluf@westga.edu
Shadreck Chitsonga Fort Valley State University
478-825-6999chitsongas@fvsu.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Josephine D. Davis Fort Valley State University
478-825-6610davisj@fvsu.edu
Steve Davis Middle Georgia State University
478-250-3759steve.davis@mga.edu
Glynnis DeRenzo Kennesaw State University
470-578-6207gbw3145@kennesaw.edu
Shreyas Desai Atlanta Metropolitan State College
sdesai@atlm.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu Albany State University
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Scarlett Erb Fort Valley State University
erbs@fvsu.edu
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Becky Griffin South Georgia State College
912-449-7566Becky.Griffin@sgsc.edu
Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528chenderson5@mail.clayton.edu
Matthew Houston Middle Georgia State University
matthew.houston@mga.edu
Luba Ibrahim Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8544librahim@highlands.edu
Avijit Kar Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5107akar@abac.edu
Richard Kilburn Middle Georgia State University
478-929-6701richard.kilburn@mga.edu
Paula Krone Georgia Gwinnett College
678-516-5885pkrone@ggc.edu
Joris Kwakye University of West Georgia
678-839-6489jkwakye@westga.edu
Joshua Lambert Georgia Southern University
912-344-3127joshualambert@georgiasouthern.edu
Viktoriya Lanier Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3373viktoriya.lanier@mga.edu
Bridget Lee Georgia Southern University
bhlee@georgiasouthern.edu
Patti Lord Bainbridge State College
229-220-5733patricia.lord@abac.edu
Suzie Lusk Clayton State University
678-359-5463slusk@clayton.edu
Robert McCurdy Georgia Highlands College
rnmccurdy@aol.com
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Debbie Morgan Kennesaw State University
770-842-7671dmorgan2@kennesaw.edu
Tilahun Muche Savannah State University
912-358-4305muchet@savannahstate.edu
Mihaela Munday Savannah State University
912-358-4216mundaym@savannahstate.edu
Masoud Naghedolfeizi Fort Valley State University
478-825-6612feizim@fvsu.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Hyounkyun Oh Savannah State University
912-358-4301hoh@savannahstate.edu
Sonal Patel University of West Georgia
678-839-4123spatel@westga.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Laura Ralston Georgia Highlands College
lralston@highlands.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Barry Rollins University of West Georgia
770-328-0202brollins@westga.edu
Karen R. Rollins University of West Georgia
678-839-0695krollins@westga.edu
Robert John Seppala Valdosta State University
229-333-5778rjseppal@valdosta.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Carrie Thielemier University of West Georgia
678-839-5408cthielem@westga.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Georgia Southern University
912-344-2929mtiemeyer@georgiasouthern.edu
Jacqueline Varnell Georgia Southern University
912-739-3658jvarnell@georgiasouthern.edu
Steven Wallace Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8624steven.wallace@mga.edu
Wesley Whitehead Bainbridge State College
334-596-3103wesley.whitehead@bainbridge.edu
Stanley Williams Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8099swilliam@highlands.edu
Mary Wolfe Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2063mary.wolfe@mga.edu
James Woods Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-788-4290jwoods7@hotmail.com
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify sets of numbers.
  • Solve a variety of equations, inequalities, and systems of equations.
  • Define the concept of function.
  • Analyze and sketch graphs of polynomial, rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions including transformations.
  • Use appropriate technology to solve problems.
  • Lesson 1: Real numbers, Exponents, and Radicals
  • Lesson 2: Polynomials and Rational Expressions
  • Lesson 3: Solving Equations in One Variable
  • Lesson 4: Solving Inequalities in One Variable
  • Lesson 5: Graphing Equations in Two Variables
  • Lesson 6: Linear Equations
  • Lesson 7: Systems of Equations
  • Lesson 8: Functions and their Graphs
  • Lesson 9: Average Rates of Change
  • Lesson 10: Transformations of Function
  • Lesson 11: Composite Functions and Inverse Functions
  • Lesson 12: Quadratic, Polynomial and Rational Functions
  • Lesson 13: Exponential Functions
  • Lesson 14: Logarithmic Functions
  • Lesson 15: Laws of Logarithms
  • Lesson 16: Exponential and Logarithmic Equations
  • Lesson 17: Modeling Exponential and Logarithmic Equations

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 5%
  • Quizzes – 15%
  • Tests (4) – 40%
  • * Midterm Exam – 20%
  • * Final Exam – 20%

You will need access to a graphing calculator. The TI-83, TI-83 plus, or TI-84-plus graphing calculator is highly recommended.

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top