Courses


Course Descriptions

College Algebra - MATH 1111

Description

This course provides an in-depth study of the properties of algebraic, exponential and logarithmic functions as needed for calculus. Emphasis is on using algebraic and graphical techniques for solving problems involving linear, quadratic, piece-wise defined, rational, polynomial, exponential and logarithmic functions.


Name Office Phone Email
Abdelkader Agoun University of West Georgia
678-839-4141aagoun@westga.edu
Alicia Alexander University of North Georgia
404-849-7005alicia.alexander@ung.edu
Sandra Anderson Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8101sanderso@highlands.edu
Kodwo Annan Georgia Gwinnett College
kannan@ggc.edu
Sanjeev Arora Fort Valley State University
478-825-6981Aroras@fvsu.edu
Agegnehu Atena Savannah State University
912-655-0651atenaa@savannahstate.edu
Scott Bailey Clayton State University
678-466-4447scottbailey@clayton.edu
Valerie Beaman-Hackle Middle Georgia State University
valerie.beamanhackle@mga.edu
Jim Bellon University of West Georgia
678-839-4140jbellon@westga.edu
Duane Benson South Georgia State College
912-381-0385duane.benson@sgsc.edu
Solomon Betanga Gordon State College
678-359-5891sbetanga@gordonstate.edu
Denise Natasha Brewley Georgia Gwinnett College
404-734-1268dnbrewley@gmail.com
Theresa Butori University of North Georgia
706-867-2520theresa.butori@ung.edu
Carrie Carmack University of West Georgia
678-839-5408ccarmack@westga.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Samuel Cartwright Fort Valley State University
cartwris@fvsu.edu
Ronald Chilluffo University of West Georgia
678-839-5544rchilluf@westga.edu
Shadreck Chitsonga Fort Valley State University
478-825-6999chitsongas@fvsu.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Josephine D. Davis Fort Valley State University
478-825-6610davisj@fvsu.edu
Steve Davis Middle Georgia State University
478-250-3759steve.davis@mga.edu
Glynnis DeRenzo Kennesaw State University
470-578-6207gbw3145@kennesaw.edu
Shreyas Desai Atlanta Metropolitan State College
sdesai@atlm.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu University of North Georgia
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@ung.edu
Scarlett Erb Fort Valley State University
erbs@fvsu.edu
Wesley Gay University of West Georgia
wgay@westga.edu
Holly Geiger Middle Georgia State University
holly.geiger@mga.edu
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Becky Griffin South Georgia State College
912-449-7566Becky.Griffin@sgsc.edu
Michael Hammock Middle Georgia State University
Michael.hammock@mga.edu
Joshua Harrelson Middle Georgia State University
joshua.harrelson@mga.edu
Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528charleshenderson@clayton.edu
Matthew Houston University of North Georgia
matthew.houston@ung.edu
Luba Ibrahim Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8544librahim@highlands.edu
Avijit Kar Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5107akar@abac.edu
Richard Kilburn Middle Georgia State University
478-929-6701richard.kilburn@mga.edu
Gretchen Kotz Georgia Highlands College
gkotz@highlands.edu
Paula Krone Georgia Gwinnett College
678-516-5885pkrone@ggc.edu
Joris Kwakye Gordon State College
678-839-6489jkwakye@gordonstate.edu
Joshua Lambert Georgia Southern University
912-344-3127joshualambert@georgiasouthern.edu
Viktoriya Lanier Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3373viktoriya.lanier@mga.edu
Bridgett Lee Georgia Southern University
bhlee@georgiasouthern.edu
Patti Lord Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-220-5733patricia.lord@abac.edu
Carol Love University of North Georgia
carol.love@ung.edu
Suzanne Lusk Clayton State University
678-359-5463suzannelusk@clayton.edu
Robert McCurdy Georgia Highlands College
rmccurdy@highlands.edu
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Debbie Morgan Kennesaw State University
770-842-7671dmorgan2@kennesaw.edu
Tilahun Muche Savannah State University
912-358-4305muchet@savannahstate.edu
Mihaela Munday Savannah State University
912-358-4216mundaym@savannahstate.edu
Masoud Naghedolfeizi Fort Valley State University
478-825-6612feizim@fvsu.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Hyounkyun Oh Savannah State University
912-358-4301hoh@savannahstate.edu
Zephyrinus Okonkwo Albany State University
Zephyrinus.Okonkwo@asurams.edu
Sarah Park Georgia Gwinnett College
spark3@ggc.edu
Irina Pashchenko Kennesaw State University
ipashche@kennesaw.edu
Sonal Patel University of West Georgia
678-839-4123spatel@westga.edu
Katherine Pinzon Georgia Gwinnett College
kpinzon@ggc.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Laura Ralston Georgia Highlands College
lralston@highlands.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Edward Redmond University of North Georgia
ed.redmond@ung.edu
John Riggott University of Georgia
jriggott@uga.edu
Joshua Roberts Georgia Gwinnett College
jroberts7@ggc.edu
Barry Rollins University of West Georgia
770-328-0202brollins@westga.edu
Karen Rollins University of West Georgia
678-839-0695krollins@westga.edu
David Ross University of North Georgia
david.ross@ung.edu
Robert John Seppala Valdosta State University
229-333-5778rjseppal@valdosta.edu
Lawrence Ssebaggala Dalton State College
lssebaggala@daltonstate.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Carrie Thielemier University of West Georgia
678-839-5408cthielem@westga.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Georgia Southern University
912-344-2929mtiemeyer@georgiasouthern.edu
Steven Wallace Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8624steven.wallace@mga.edu
Taylor Wars Albany State University
229-317-6883taylor.wars@asurams.edu
Stanley Williams Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8099swilliam@highlands.edu
Mary Wolfe Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2063mary.wolfe@mga.edu
James Woods Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-788-4290jwoods7@hotmail.com
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify sets of numbers.
  • Solve a variety of equations, inequalities, and systems of equations.
  • Define the concept of function.
  • Analyze and sketch graphs of polynomial, rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions including transformations.
  • Use appropriate technology to solve problems.
  • Lesson 1: Real numbers, Exponents, and Radicals
  • Lesson 2: Polynomials and Rational Expressions
  • Lesson 3: Solving Equations in One Variable
  • Lesson 4: Solving Inequalities in One Variable
  • Lesson 5: Graphing Equations in Two Variables
  • Lesson 6: Linear Equations
  • Lesson 7: Systems of Equations
  • Lesson 8: Functions and their Graphs
  • Lesson 9: Average Rates of Change
  • Lesson 10: Transformations of Function
  • Lesson 11: Composite Functions and Inverse Functions
  • Lesson 12: Quadratic, Polynomial and Rational Functions
  • Lesson 13: Exponential Functions
  • Lesson 14: Logarithmic Functions
  • Lesson 15: Laws of Logarithms
  • Lesson 16: Exponential and Logarithmic Equations
  • Lesson 17: Modeling Exponential and Logarithmic Equations

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Mandatory Attendance - 1%
  • Mindset Learning Project - 4%
  • Discussions - 5%
  • Weekly Check-in - Not graded
  • Pre-assessment (Knewton) - 5%
  • Homework (Knewton) - 20%
  • Online Exams/Tests - 20%
  • Midterm Exam Practice 5%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam Practice - 5%
  • Final Exam - 20%

You will need access to a graphing calculator. The TI-83, TI-83 plus, or TI-84-plus graphing calculator is highly recommended.

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.