Courses


Course Descriptions

Elementary Statistics – MATH 1401

Description

A course in basic statistics. Topics include descriptive statistics, probability, distributions, hypothesis testing, inferences, correlation, and regression.


Name Office Phone Email
Dawit Aberra Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199aberrad@fvsu.edu
Gerald Agbegha Georgia Gwinnett College
gagbegha@ggc.edu
Abdelkader Agoun University of West Georgia
678-839-4141aagoun@westga.edu
Sandra Anderson Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8101sanderso@highlands.edu
Kodwo Annan Georgia Gwinnett College
kannan@ggc.edu
Sanjeev Arora Fort Valley State University
478-825-6981Aroras@fvsu.edu
Solomon Betanga Gordon State College
678-359-5891sbetanga@gordonstate.edu
Bhavana Burell Fort Valley State University
burellb@fvsu.edu
Theresa Butori University of North Georgia
706-867-2520theresa.butori@ung.edu
Louis Camara Middle Georgia State University
louis.camara@mga.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Janis Carthon Albany State University
229-430-4158janis.carthon@asurams.edu
Samuel Cartwright Fort Valley State University
cartwris@fvsu.edu
Shadreck Chitsonga Fort Valley State University
478-825-6999chitsongas@fvsu.edu
Gyuheui Choi Atlanta Metropolitan State College
gchoi@atlm.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu University of North Georgia
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@ung.edu
Vitaliy Goncharenko Kennesaw State University
vgonchar@kennesaw.edu
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Tamara Gray Middle Georgia State University
tamara.gray@mga.edu
Joshua Harrelson Middle Georgia State University
joshua.harrelson@mga.edu
Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528charleshenderson@clayton.edu
Luba Ibrahim Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8544librahim@highlands.edu
Jing Kersey East Georgia State College
jkersey@ega.edu
Richard Kilburn Middle Georgia State University
478-929-6701richard.kilburn@mga.edu
Sujin Kim Savannah State University
912-358-4302kims@savannahstate.edu
Greg Knofczynski Georgia Southern University
912-344-2716gknofczynski@georgiasouthern.edu
Elliot Krop Clayton State University
elliotkrop@clayton.edu
Joshua Lambert Georgia Southern University
912-344-3127joshualambert@georgiasouthern.edu
Carol Love University of North Georgia
carol.love@ung.edu
Laureen Lowman Middle Georgia State College
laureen.lowman@mga.edu
Kecia May University of West Georgia
678-723-8098kmay@westga.edu
Monisola McGlone Kennesaw State University
mmcglon2@kennesaw.edu
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Gary Nelson Georgia Gwinnett College
678-691-7458gnelson@ggc.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Camille Pace Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8127chernand@highlands.edu
Sonal Patel University of West Georgia
678-839-4123spatel@westga.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Kishore Pradhan South Georgia State College
kishore.pradhan@sgsc.edu
Blanche Presley Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8619blanche.presley@mga.edu
Laura Ralston Georgia Highlands College
lralston@highlands.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Latriece Tanksley Savannah State University
912-358-3296tanksleyl@savannahstate.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Georgia Southern University
912-344-2929mtiemeyer@georgiasouthern.edu
John Trimboli Middle Georgia State University
john.trimboli@mga.edu
Taylor Wars Albany State University
229-317-6883taylor.wars@asurams.edu
Karen Watson Fort Valley State University
478-953-7693watsonk@fvsu.edu
Stanley Williams Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8099swilliam@highlands.edu
Mohammad Yazdani University of West Georgia
678-839-4132myazdani@westga.edu
Jianmin Zhu Fort Valley State University
478-827-3067zhuj@fvsu.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify and apply appropriate methods of data collection.
  • Effectively communicate quantitative concepts and results.
  • Use graphical and numeric techniques to describe data.
  • Develop an understanding of the concept of probability and the relationship of probability and statistics.
  • Develop an understanding of the various probability distributions.
  • Use the appropriate method for estimating values of population parameters.
  • Use the appropriate method to test population parameters.
  • Use appropriate technology to determine whether a linear relationship exists between two variables.
  • Extract quantitative data from a given situation, translate the data, evaluate information, abstract essential information, make logical deductions, and arrive at reasonable conclusions.
  • Lesson 1: Getting Started
  • Lesson 2: Organizing Data
  • Lesson 3: Averages and Variation
  • Lesson 4: Elementary Probability Theory
  • Lesson 5: Binomial Probability Distribution and Related Topics
  • Lesson 6: Normal Curves and Sampling Distributions
  • Lesson 7: Estimation
  • Lesson 8: Hypothesis Testing
  • Lesson 9: Correlation and Regression

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance Verification - 1%
  • Discussions - 5%
  • Mindset Learning Project - 4%
  • Quizzes - 30%
  • Homework - 30%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%

TI-83 Plus or TI-84 Plus Graphing Calculator

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.