Courses


Course Descriptions

Elementary Statistics – MATH 1401

Description

A course in basic statistics. Topics include descriptive statistics, probability, distributions, hypothesis testing, inferences, correlation, and regression.


Name Office Phone Email
Dawit Aberra Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199aberrad@fvsu.edu
Abdelkader Agoun University of West Georgia
678-839-4141aagoun@westga.edu
Sandra Anderson Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8101sanderso@highlands.edu
Sanjeev Arora Fort Valley State University
478-825-6981Aroras@fvsu.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Janis Carthon Albany State University
229-430-4158janis.carthon@asurams.edu
Samuel Cartwright Fort Valley State University
cartwris@fvsu.edu
Shadreck Chitsonga Fort Valley State University
478-825-6999chitsongas@fvsu.edu
Gyuheui Choi ATLM
gchoi@atlm.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu Albany State University
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Vitaliy Goncharenko University of West Georgia
vgonchar@westga.edu
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Tamara Gray Middle Georgia State College
tamara.gray@mga.edu
Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528chenderson5@mail.clayton.edu
Luba Ibrahim Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8544librahim@highlands.edu
Jing Kersey East Georgia State College
jkersey@ega.edu
Richard Kilburn Middle Georgia State University
478-929-6701richard.kilburn@mga.edu
Sujin Kim Savannah State University
912-358-4302kims@savannahstate.edu
Gregory Knofczynski Georgia Southern University
912-344-2716 gknofczynski@georgiasouthern.edu
Joshua Lambert Georgia Southern University
912-344-3127joshualambert@georgiasouthern.edu
Carol Love University of North Georgia
carol.love@ung.edu
Laureen Lowman Middle Georgia State College
laureen.lowman@mga.edu
Kecia May University of West Georgia
678-723-8098kmay@westga.edu
Monisola McGlone Kennesaw State University
mmcglon2@kennesaw.edu
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Gary Nelson Georgia Gwinnett College
678-691-7458gnelson@ggc.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Camille Pace Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8127cpace@highlands.edu
Sonal Patel University of West Georgia
678-839-4123spatel@westga.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Kishore Pradhan South Georgia State College
kishore.pradhan@sgsc.edu
Blanche Presley Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8619blanche.presley@mga.edu
Laura Ralston Georgia Highlands College
lralston@highlands.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Latriece Tanksley Savannah State University
912-358-3296tanksleyl@savannahstate.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Georgia Southern University
912-344-2929mtiemeyer@georgiasouthern.edu
Taylor Wars Albany State University
229-317-6883taylor.wars@asurams.edu
Karen Watson Fort Valley State University
478-953-7693watsonk@fvsu.edu
Stanley Williams Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8099swilliam@highlands.edu
Mohammad Yazdani University of West Georgia
678-839-4132myazdani@westga.edu
Jianmin Zhu Fort Valley State University
478-827-3067zhuj@fvsu.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify and apply appropriate methods of data collection.
  • Effectively communicate quantitative concepts and results.
  • Use graphical and numeric techniques to describe data.
  • Develop an understanding of the concept of probability and the relationship of probability and statistics.
  • Develop an understanding of the various probability distributions.
  • Use the appropriate method for estimating values of population parameters.
  • Use the appropriate method to test population parameters.
  • Use appropriate technology to determine whether a linear relationship exists between two variables.
  • Extract quantitative data from a given situation, translate the data, evaluate information, abstract essential information, make logical deductions, and arrive at reasonable conclusions.
  • Unit 1: Sampling and Descriptive Statistics
  • Unit 2: Probability and Random Variables
  • Unit 3: The Central Limit Theorem and Confidence Intervals
  • Unit 4: Hypothesis Testing & Summarizing Bivariate Data

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance Verification – 1%
  • Participation & Discussions – 4%
  • Online Exams – 43%
  • Practice Cumulative Exam – 2%
  • Quizzes – 15%
  • Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final Exam 20%

TI-83 Plus or TI-84 Plus Graphing Calculator

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top