perloader

Loading

Courses


Course Descriptions

English Composition I - ENGL 1101

Description

A composition course focusing on skills required for effective writing in a variety of contexts, with emphasis on exposition, analysis, and argumentation. The course includes an introductory use of a variety of research skills.


Name Office Phone Email
Brandi Arrington Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4959barrington@abac.edu
Leverett B. Butts University of North Georgia
678-717-3521leverett.butts@ung.edu
Erin Caldwell University of North Georgia
706-864-1775erin.caldwell@ung.edu
Tara Causey University of North Georgia
410-726-3546Tara.Causey@ung.edu
Jason Dew Georgia State University - Perimeter College
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Anna Dewart College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5957adewart@ccga.edu
Emily Dowd-Arrow Bainbridge State College
229-248-2560emily.dowd@bainbridge.edu
Kristi Dudley Bainbridge State College
229-248-2500kristi.dudley@bainbridge.edu
Ashley Dycus University of West Georgia
770-900-4226adycus@westga.edu
Amy Ellison University of West Georgia
naaellison@westga.edu
Ann Marie Francis University of North Georgia
470-239-3116annmarie.francis@ung.edu
Nathanael Gilbert Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3529nathanael.gilbert@mga.edu
Wendy Grisham University of West Georgia
678-839-5288wgrisham@westga.edu
Vivien Harris-Murphy Savannah State University
912-358-3493murphyv@savannahstate.edu
Jenna Harte University of West Georgia
678-839-4880jharte@westga.edu
Sarah Hendricks University of West Georgia
678-839-4148shendric@westga.edu
Michelle James University of North Georgia
843-754-9940michelle.james@ung.edu
Brandy James-Chambless University of West Georgia
678-839-4881bjames@westga.edu
Elisabeth "Elisa" Johnson South Georgia State College
912-260-4309elisa.johnson@sgsc.edu
Jamie Kellam Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-5690jkellam@atlm.edu
Mary Lamb Clayton State University
678-466-4706marylamb@clayton.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
John Marinan Georgia Gwinnett College
678-407-5601jmarinan@ggc.edu
Cortney McLeod Gordon State College
678-359-5081cmcleod@gordonstate.edu
Marissa McNamara Georgia Perimeter College
678-891-3726mmcnamara@gsu.edu
Carrie McWhorter University of West Georgia
678-839-4850cmcwhort@westga.edu
Joseph "Joe" Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
April Oglesbee University of West Georgia
678-839-5128aoglesbe@westga.edu
Lydia Postell Dalton State College
706-272-2584lpostell@daltonstate.edu
Billy Reynolds University of North Georgia
229-391-4959Billy.Reynolds@ung.edu
LaRonda Sanders-Senu Gordon State College
678-359-5444lsanders-senu@gordonstate.edu
Joshua Sewell University of West Georgia
678-464-1172jsewell@westga.edu
Amanda Shoemake University of West Georgia
678-839-4859amandas@westga.edu
Amelia Simmons East Georgia State College
478-289-2183ajsimmons@ega.edu
James Sisson Middle Georgia State University
773-643-1284james.sisson@mga.edu
Jeremiah Walker University of North Georgia
770-757-2559jeremiah.walker@ung.edu
Frank Williams Savannah State University
912-358-4158williamsf@savannahstate.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • ESL students must have successfully completed all ESL courses. Remedial students must have completed all reading and writing requirements.

Textbook

  • Free

Course Equivalency

Course Syllabus

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate critical thinking and critical reading strategies.
  • Use a writing process to produce writing.
  • Write complete and clear sentences that are grammatically correct according to standard written English.
  • Use correct spelling and punctuation.
  • Develop unified coherent paragraphs by expressing controlling ideas.
  • Support and clarify ideas with specific evidence and details.
  • Plan writing in light of situation, audience and purpose.
  • Follow a format and structure appropriate to the rhetorical situation.
  • Introduce and close essays while linking paragraphs logically and clearly.
  • Write for varied purposes informing, analyzing and arguing.
  • Select an organizational approach and style appropriate to varied situational contexts.
  • Synthesize information and ideas from one or more sources and explain.
  • Integrate appropriate information from outside sources in the appropriate style and form.
  • Use GALILEO and Web search engines to locate information.
  • Critically evaluate sources and assess varied perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Unit 1: The Introductory Unit
  • Unit 2: The Narrative Essay
  • Unit 3: Expository Writing & Rhetorical Analysis
  • Unit 4: The Argumentative Essay
  • Unit 5: Writing a Research-based Argument

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Class Discussions & Assignments – 30%
  • Unit Essays (3) – 40%
  • Research Essay – 20%
  • Proctored Essay – 10%
Back to Top