Courses


Course Descriptions

English Composition I - ENGL 1101

Description

A composition course focusing on skills required for effective writing in a variety of contexts, with emphasis on exposition, analysis, and argumentation. The course includes an introductory use of a variety of research skills.


Name Office Phone Email
Erin Andersen University of North Georgia
706-864-1775erin.andersen@ung.edu
Brandi Arrington Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4959barrington@abac.edu
Jamie Barker Albany State University
229-317-6515Jamie.Barker@asurams.edu
Jamie Kellam Butler Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-5690jkellam@atlm.edu
Leverett Butts University of North Georgia
678-717-3521leverett.butts@ung.edu
Nikki Byrom University of West Georgia
nbyrom@westga.edu
Amanda Campbell University of West Georgia
678-839-4875acampbel@westga.edu
Tara Causey University of North Georgia
410-726-3546Tara.Causey@ung.edu
Laura Chambers East Georgia State College
lmchambers@ega.edu
Brandy James Chambless University of West Georgia
678-839-4881bjames@westga.edu
Carla Chwat University of North Georgia
carla.chwat@ung.edu
Erin Collins University of North Georgia
erin.collins@ung.edu
Sheila Devaney University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
Jason Dew Georgia State University
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Anna Dewart College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5957adewart@ccga.edu
Emily Dowd-Arrow Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-248-2560emily.dowd-arrow@abac.edu
Ashley Dycus University of West Georgia
770-900-4226adycus@westga.edu
Amy Ellison University of West Georgia
naaellison@westga.edu
Ann Marie Francis University of North Georgia
470-239-3116annmarie.francis@ung.edu
Nathanael Gilbert Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3529nathanael.gilbert@mga.edu
Wendy Grisham University of West Georgia
678-839-5288wendy.grisham@usg.edu
Cortney Grubbs-McLeod Gordon State College
678-359-5081cmcleod@gordonstate.edu
Rabia Hakima East Georgia State College
rhakima@ega.edu
Cyndy Hall Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4955chall@abac.edu
Joy Handelman Albany State University
229-317-6483joy.handelman@asurams.edu
Nat Hardy University of North Georgia
912-358-3341nat.hardy@ung.edu
Vivien Harris-Murphy Savannah State University
912-358-3493murphyv@savannahstate.edu
Jenna Harte University of West Georgia
678-839-4880jharte@westga.edu
Sarah Hendricks University of West Georgia
678-839-4148shendric@westga.edu
Jonathan Hendrix University of West Georgia
802-466-2750jhendrix@westga.edu
Heather Herbert University of North Georgia
heather.herbert@ung.edu
Todd Hoffman Augusta University
706-667-4449thoffma1@augusta.edu
Napolita Hooper-Simonga University of West Georgia
678-891-3970nhooper@westga.edu
Michelle James University of North Georgia
843-754-9940michelle.james@ung.edu
Bonnie Jett University of West Georgia
bjett@westga.edu
Elisabeth Johnson South Georgia State College
912-260-4309elisa.johnson@sgsc.edu
Annliss Jordan East Georgia State College
annliss.jordan@ega.edu
Sipai Klein Clayton State University
sipaiklein@clayton.edu
Jeff Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8126jkozee@highlands.edu
Juliet Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8079jukozee@highlands.edu
Mary Lamb Clayton State University
678-466-4706marylamb@clayton.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
Jade Loicano University of West Georgia
678-839-4744jadel@westga.edu
Kelley Mahoney Dalton State College
kmahoney@daltonstate.edu
John Marinan Georgia Gwinnett College
678-407-5601jmarinan@ggc.edu
James McEver University of North Georgia
James.McEver@ung.edu
Lynn McGill University of North Georgia
lynn.mcgill@ung.edu
Marissa McNamara Georgia State University
678-891-3726mmcnamara@gsu.edu
Carrie McWhorter University of West Georgia
678-839-4850cmcwhort@westga.edu
Joseph Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Clay Morton Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5750clay.morton@mga.edu
Eugene Ngezem Clayton State University
678-466-4734eugenengezem@clayton.edu
April Oglesbee University of West Georgia
678-839-5128aoglesbe@westga.edu
Carmine Palumbo East Georgia State College
cpalumbo@ega.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Tim Payne University of West Georgia
678-839-6512tpayne@westga.edu
Anna Payne University of West Georgia
0apayne@westga.edu
Rachel Pinder University of North Georgia
rachel.pinder@ung.edu
Lydia Postell Dalton State College
706-272-2584lpostell@daltonstate.edu
Jennifer Randall Dalton State College
jrandall@daltonstate.edu
Karen Redding University of North Georgia
706-310-6325karen.redding@ung.edu
Billy Reynolds University of North Georgia
229-391-4959Billy.Reynolds@ung.edu
Matthew Rood Kennesaw State University
mrood2@kennesaw.edu
Lisa Russell Kennesaw State University
770-655-1577lrussel7@kennesaw.edu
Amanda Sepulveda Georgia Gwinnett College
678-471-5000asepulveda@ggc.edu
Joshua Sewell University of West Georgia
678-839-4854jsewell@westga.edu
Matthew Sherling University of West Georgia
770-833-7163msherlin@westga.edu
Amanda Shoemake University of West Georgia
678-922-9126amandas@westga.edu
Sarah Shope Dalton State College
sshope@daltonstate.edu
Stephanie Short University of North Georgia
stephanie.short@ung.edu
Frederick Shorter Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Frederick.Shorter@abac.edu
Amelia Simmons East Georgia State College
478-289-2183ajsimmons@ega.edu
James Sisson Middle Georgia State University
773-643-1284james.sisson@mga.edu
Enoch Smith Albany State University
enoch.smith@asurams.edu
Robert Stiles University of North Georgia
robert.stiles@ung.edu
Matthew Thompson University of North Georgia
matthew.thompson@ung.edu
Shane Trayers Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5793shane.trayers@mga.edu
Jeremiah Walker University of North Georgia
770-757-2559jeremiah.walker@ung.edu
Jason Walter East Georgia State College
jwalter@ega.edu
Ashley Warner University of West Georgia
awarner@westga.edu
Barbara Warren Valdosta State University
229-333-5946bnwarren@valdosta.edu
Jay Branagan Webb Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
jay.webb@abac.edu
Patricia West Savannah State University
912-358-3356westp@savannahstate.edu
Kaci West Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4959kwest@abac.edu
Frank Williams Savannah State University
912-358-4158williamsf@savannahstate.edu
Helen Wishart Valdosta State University
229-249-4868hawishar@valdosta.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate critical thinking and critical reading strategies.
  • Use a writing process to produce writing.
  • Write complete and clear sentences that are grammatically correct according to standard written English.
  • Use correct spelling and punctuation.
  • Develop unified coherent paragraphs by expressing controlling ideas.
  • Support and clarify ideas with specific evidence and details.
  • Plan writing in light of situation, audience and purpose.
  • Follow a format and structure appropriate to the rhetorical situation.
  • Introduce and close essays while linking paragraphs logically and clearly.
  • Write for varied purposes informing, analyzing and arguing.
  • Select an organizational approach and style appropriate to varied situational contexts.
  • Synthesize information and ideas from one or more sources and explain.
  • Integrate appropriate information from outside sources in the appropriate style and form.
  • Use GALILEO and Web search engines to locate information.
  • Critically evaluate sources and assess varied perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Unit 1: The Introductory Unit
  • Unit 2: The Rhetorical Analysis Essay
  • Unit 3: The Synthesis Essay
  • Unit 4: The Research-Based Argumentative Essay

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Class Discussions - 15%
  • Class Assignments & Grammar Quizzes - 15%
  • Unit Homework Quizzes - 10%
  • Rough Drafts - 25%
  • Final Drafts - 25%
  • Proctored Midterm - 10%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.