Courses


Course Descriptions

English Composition II – ENGL 1102

Description

A composition course that develops writing skills beyond the level of proficiency required by English Composition I. English Composition II emphasizes interpretation and evaluation, and incorporates a variety of more advanced research methods.


Name Office Phone Email
Khalilah Ali Clayton State University
0khalilahali@clayton.edu
Brandi Arrington Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4959barrington@abac.edu
Justin Barbaree University of North Georgia
706-864-1964Justin.Barbaree@ung.edu
Jamie Barker Albany State University
229-317-6515Jamie.Barker@asurams.edu
Arthur Basler University of North Georgia
803-417-3821arthur.basler@ung.edu
Laura Beasley University of West Georgia
678-839-6512lbeasley@westga.edu
Erin Caldwell University of North Georgia
706-864-1775erin.caldwell@ung.edu
Amanda Mandi Campbell University of West Georgia
678-839-4875acampbel@westga.edu
Tara Causey University of North Georgia
410-726-3546Tara.Causey@ung.edu
Rebecca Cofer Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4918rcofer@abac.edu
TerrI Craft Bainbridge State College
229-243-3165tcraft@bainbridge.edu
Jason Dew Georgia State University - Perimeter College
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Lisa Diehl University of North Georgia
706-864-1964lisa.diehl@ung.edu
Leigh Dillard University of North Georgia
678-717-3428leigh.dillard@ung.edu
Andrew DiNicola South Georgia State College
912-260-4366Andrew.DiNicola@sgsc.edu
Karen Dodson University of North Georgia
678-717-3870karen.dodson@ung.edu
Kristi Dudley Bainbridge State College
229-248-2500kristi.dudley@bainbridge.edu
Ashley Dycus University of West Georgia
770-900-4226adycus@westga.edu
Jonathan Fegley Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3348jonathan.fegley@mga.edu
Ebony Gibson Georgia Gwinnett College
404-416-8471egibson5@ggc.edu
Nathanael Gilbert Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3529nathanael.gilbert@mga.edu
Wendy Grisham University of West Georgia
678-839-5288wgrisham@westga.edu
Cyndy Hall Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4955chall@abac.edu
Deborah "Joy" Handelman Albany State University
229-317-6483Joy.Handelman@asurams.edu
Vivien Harris-Murphy Savannah State University
912-358-3493murphyv@savannahstate.edu
Jonathan Hendrix University of West Georgia
802-466-2750jhendrix@westga.edu
Stephanie Hollenbeck University of West Georgia
678-941-9899shollenb@westga.edu
Napolita Hooper-Simanga University of West Georgia
678-891-3970nhooper@westga.edu
Michelle James University of North Georgia
843-754-9940michelle.james@ung.edu
Rhonda Kelley South Georgia State College
912-260-4303rhonda.kelley@sgsc.edu
Alan Kelly Georgia Gwinnett College
678-939-9276akelly@ggc.edu
Juliet Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8079jukozee@highlands.edu
Jeffrey Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8126jkozee@highlands.edu
Mary Lamb Clayton State University
678-466-4706marylamb@clayton.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
Jade Loicano University of West Georgia
678-839-4744jadel@westga.edu
Lisa Mallory Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4700lmallory@atlm.edu
John Marinan Georgia Gwinnett College
678-407-5601jmarinan@ggc.edu
Christina Matthews Fort Valley State University
478-825-6674matthewsc01@fvsu.edu
Chaunda McDavis Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4702cmcdavis@atlm.edu
Cortney McLeod Gordon State College
678-359-5081cmcleod@gordonstate.edu
Marissa McNamara Georgia Perimeter College
678-891-3726mmcnamara@gsu.edu
Mary Mears Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5717mary.mears@mga.edu
Joseph "Joe" Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Karen Morris Valdosta State University
229-333-7345kamorris@valdosta.edu
Clay Morton Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5750clay.morton@mga.edu
Jeffrey L. Newberry Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4972jnewberry@abac.edu
Eugene Ngezem Clayton State University
678-466-4734eugenengezem@clayton.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Tim Payne University of West Georgia
678-839-6512tpayne@westga.edu
Karen Redding University of North Georgia
706-310-6325karen.redding@ung.edu
Billy Reynolds University of North Georgia
229-391-4959Billy.Reynolds@ung.edu
Pete Rorabaugh Kennesaw State University
404-413-5043proraba1@kennesaw.edu
Lisa Russell Kennesaw State University
770-655-1577lrussel7@kennesaw.edu
LaRonda Sanders-Senu Gordon State College
678-359-5444lsanders-senu@gordonstate.edu
Matthew Sherling University of West Georgia
770-833-7163msherlin@westga.edu
Nancy Sherrod Armstrong State University
912-344-2591nancy.sherrod@armstrong.edu
Amanda Shoemake University of West Georgia
678-839-4859amandas@westga.edu
Sarah Shope Dalton State College
sshope@daltonstate.edu
Amelia Simmons East Georgia State College
478-289-2183ajsimmons@ega.edu
James Sisson Middle Georgia State University
773-643-1284james.sisson@mga.edu
Elizabeth Lee Steere University of West Georgia
678-839-6512esteere@westga.edu
Charla Sutton Terrell Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4997cterrell@abac.edu
William Teem University of West Georgia
0wteem@westga.edu
Duane Theobald University of West Georgia
678-839-5312dtheobal@westga.edu
Laura Thomason Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5765Laura.thomason@mga.edu
Shane Trayers Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5793shane.trayers@mga.edu
Jeremiah Walker University of North Georgia
770-757-2559jeremiah.walker@ung.edu
Dianne West University of West Georgia
678-839-6570diannew@westga.edu
Patricia West Savannah State University
912-358-3356westp@savannahstate.edu
Kaci West Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4959kwest@abac.edu
Frank Williams Savannah State University
912-358-4158williamsf@savannahstate.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Enhance your appreciation of various types of texts, both visual and written.
  • Reflect upon and respond to the ideas of others.
  • Refine your thinking, reading, and writing skills.
  • Use the writing process to understand different texts.
  • Increase your working vocabulary of literary terms.
  • Improve your research and documentation skills.
  • Improve your electronic communication skills.
  • Apply critical perspectives to various genres.
  • Demonstrate critical thinking skills in reading and writing assignments.
  • Write well-developed and logically organized essays.
  • Plan and conduct a research project using a variety of research sources.
  • Navigate and communicate effectively online.
  • Expand your awareness of these themes and explore the connections between these themes and your own experiences.
  • Critically evaluate resources and assess varied perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Unit 1: Critical Analysis of Visual Texts
  • Unit 2: An Introduction to Themes in Literature
  • Unit 3: Analyzing Poetry
  • Unit 4: Analyzing Short Stories
  • Unit 5: Critiquing Creative Non-Fiction or Essays
  • Unit 6: Analyzing Drama
  • Unit 7: Research

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Discussions and Participation – 25%
  • Writing Assignments (3) – 35%
  • The Research Essay – 25%
  • Proctored Essay – 15%
Back to Top