Courses


Course Descriptions

Environmental Science – ENVS 2202

Description

Environmental Science, the study of interactions between humans and the environment, is an interdisciplinary science course that integrates principles from biology, chemistry, ecology, geology, and non-science disciplines. Issues of local, regional, and global concern will be used to help students explain scientific concepts and analyze practical solutions to complex environmental problems. Emphasis is placed on the study of ecosystems, human population growth, energy, pollution, and other environmental issues as well as important environmental regulations.


Name Office Phone Email
Ghazia Asif Georgia State University
770-310-3061gasif@westga.edu
Christopher Beals Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5270cbeals@abac.edu
Robert Bergstrom University of West Georgia
678-839-6479rbergstr@westga.edu
Sabitra Brush Bainbridge State College
229-248-2500sabitra.brush@bainbridge.edu
Vasanta Chivukula Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4742vchivukula@atlm.edu
Darlene Dickens East Georgia State College
912-623-2454ddickens@ega.edu
Amber Ebert Georgia Gwinnett College
678-407-5603aebert@ggc.edu
Victor Esenabhalu South Georgia State College
912-260-4214victor.esenabhalu@sgsc.edu
Candice Flowe Chatman Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-668-7595cflowe@atlm.edu
Richard Foreman Albany State University
229-317-6448Richard.Foreman@asurams.edu
Anne Gaquere-Parker University of West Georgia
678-839-6026agaquere@westga.edu
Hannes Gerhardt University of West Georgia
678-839-4064hgerhard@westga.edu
John Hansen University of West Georgia
678-839-6021jhansen@westga.edu
Alvin Harmon Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4056aharmon@atlm.edu
Jenny Harper Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-243-3173jennifer.abac@abac.edu
Ann Harris University of North Georgia
678-717-3768ann.harris@eku.edu
Farooq A. Khan University of West Georgia
678-839-6027fkhan@westga.edu
Irene Kokkala University of North Georgia
706-864-1862irene.kokkala@ung.edu
May Liu Albany State University
MAY.LIU@ASURAMS.EDU
Mitch Lockhart Valdosta State University
0jmlockha@valdosta.edu
Annabelle McKie-Voerste Dalton State College
706-272-2487amckie@daltonstate.edu
Andrew Meyer Dalton State College
706-272-2491ameyer@daltonstate.edu
Bryan Mitchell Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-2733bmitchell@atlm.edu
Hussein Mohamed Dalton State College
706-272-2196hmohamed@daltonstate.edu
Billy Morris Georgia Highlands College
706-368-7528bmorris@highlands.edu
Lauren Mueller Albany State University
229-317-6797lauren.mueller@asurams.edu
Jasmin Paul Fort Valley State University
478-825-6114paulj@fvsu.edu
Shea Rose University of West Georgia
678-839-4067srose@westga.edu
Randy Spaid Middle Georgia State University
478-757-2699randy.spaid@mga.edu
Omar Villanueva Georgia Gwinnett College
706-272-2194ovillanueva@ggc.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook

Readings are embedded inside the course


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Describe Environmental Science and the basic concepts involved in the study of the subject.
  • Identify various ecosystems.
  • Describe various ecosystem components and functions and their impact on the environment.
  • Discuss human population by calculating human population growth and identifying the impact of such growth on the environment.
  • Describe various sources of energy from several perspectives: their origins, costs, and environmental impact.
  • Identify various pollutants to our air, water, and land and discuss their environmental impact.
  • Interpret environmental issues affecting the earth and its populations, including water use, food production, and urban development.
  • Define biodiversity and identify its value.
  • Identify the need for environmental regulations.
  • Explain the balance between the implementation costs of environmental regulations and their impact on humankind.
  • Unit 1: Introduction to Environmental Science
  • Unit 2: Population and community Ecology
  • Unit 3: Ecosystems and Biodiversity
  • Unit 4: Energy
  • Unit 5: Air Pollution, Climate Change, and Ozone Depletion
  • Unit 6: Water Pollution and Usage
  • Unit 7: Solid and Hazardous Waste
  • Unit 8: Urban Sprawl & Food Production

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Unit Discussions & Assignments – 25%
  • Unit Quizzes – 25%
  • Semester Project – 20%
  • Midterm Exam (proctored) – 15%
  • Final Exam (proctored) – 15%
Back to Top