Courses


Course Descriptions

Human Communications - COMM 1100

Description

A broad approach to oral communication skills including intrapersonal, interpersonal, small group, and public speaking.


Name Office Phone Email
Crystal Anderson South Georgia State College
912-449-7567crystal.anderson@sgsc.edu
Allison Bailey University of North Georgia
470-239-3135allison.bailey@ung.edu
Peggy Blood Savannah State University
912-897-2833bloodp@savannahstate.edu
Tina Burney Albany State University
229-317-6000tina.burney@asurams.edu
Nancy Carr Armstrong State University
nanancy.carr@armstrong.edu
Elizabeth Desnoyers-Colas Armstrong State University
912-344-3190elizabeth.desnoyers-colas@armstrong.edu
Leslie Ann Dunn Georgia State University
ldunn@gsu.edu
Michael Eaves Valdosta State University
229-259-5116meaves@valdosta.edu
Meredith Ginn Kennesaw State University
770-317-2921mginn@kennesaw.edu
Adria Goldman Gordon State College
678-359-5154agoldman@gordonstate.edu
Karen Henderson Savannah State University
912-358-4173kwilds@comcast.net
Michael Hester University of West Georgia
678-839-6636mhester@westga.edu
Tamara Holmes Georgia Perimeter College
770-940-6211tamara.gholmes@yahoo.com
Linda P. Jurczak Valdosta State University
229-333-5826lpjurczak@valdosta.edu
Sheree Keith Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5788sheree.keith@mga.edu
Charlotte Klesman Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4976cklesman@abac.edu
Brian Kline University of North Georgia
678-717-3678brian.kline@ung.edu
Stephanie Lahnala Columbus State University
706-507-8579lahnala_stephanie@columbusstate.edu
Andrew Lee Fort Valley State University
478-825-6708leea@fvsu.edu
Andre Nicholson Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5789andre.nicholson@mga.edu
Keith Perry Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4967kperry@abac.edu
Kathryn Powell Georgia College and State University
478-445-7368dr.k.powell@gmail.com
Paul Raptis University of North Georgia
678-717-3785Paul.Raptis@ung.edu
Hayley Scheeser South Georgia State College
912-260-4302hayley.scheeser@sgsc.edu
Erica Simpson Georgia Highlands College
706-295-6362esimpson@highlands.edu
Victoria Smith-Butler Albany State University
229-317-6518victoria.butler@asurams.edu
Cynthia Stevens Georgia Perimeter College
678-212-7585cstevens20@gsu.edu
Molly Stoltz Valdosta State University
229-245-4324mmstoltz@valdosta.edu
Steven Stuglin Georgia Highlands College
678-872-4220sstuglin@highlands.edu
Juliana Trammel Savannah State University
912-358-3372trammelj@savannahstate.edu
Joseph Watson Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2831joseph.watson@gsw.edu
Melissa Weaver Kennesaw State University
678-315-7202mweave15@kennesaw.edu
Patricia West Savannah State University
912-358-3356westp@savannahstate.edu
Caitlin Wills-Toker University of North Georgia
404-786-7795Caitlin.Wills-Toker@ung.edu
Carol Young Albany State University
229-430-4885cyoung11@asurams.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Identify and describe the basic components of the communication model, the various types of communication, the role communication plays to satisfy needs, and the difference between communication and communications (information technology, satellite engineering, etc.).
  • Utilize critical thinking skills to create communicative appeals that are coherent and well adapted to the receiver, stylistically appropriate, and substantively complex.
  • Describe the different ways in which language defines and frames situations.
  • Recognize how different language strategies (such as the use of vivid, evasive, and equivocal language) enhance or undermine communication effectiveness.
  • Describe and analyze the basic strategies for reducing communication anxiety.
  • Identify, analyze, and discuss common listening habits that interfere with effective communication and strategies for improving listening skills.
  • Analyze the fundamental dimensions of cultural diversity (demographic, regional, and ideological) as they relate to communication.
  • Discuss the ethical aspects of communication.
  • Identify and explain the major theories of human communication and persuasion in interpersonal, small group, and public communication contexts.
  • Observe, explain, and apply the major concepts used to describe interpersonal processes, including the evolution of the self-concept, relational development, listening, and conflict management.
  • Observe, explain, and apply the major concepts used to describe small group processes, including group characteristics, decision making, roles, and norms of interaction.
  • Observe and utilize the recommended strategies for developing, delivering, and evaluating effective public presentations.
  • Define the field of mass communication.
  • Describe the use of media literacy as it relates to mass communication.
  • Unit 1: Orientation
  • Unit 2: Why Communication Matters
  • Unit 3: Social Psychology of Communication
  • Unit 4: Communication in Practice
  • Unit 5: Interpersonal Communication
  • Unit 6: Public Presentations
  • Unit 7: Small Group Communication
  • Unit 8: Mass Communication

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 25%
  • Quizzes – 10%
  • Unit Assignments – 50%
  • Proctored Final Exam 15%

For this course it is important to note that you will create audio/video recordings in some assignments. For that reason, you are required to have access to the following:

  • Webcam with microphone, video camera, or computer with camera preinstalled (such as a MacBook or iMac)
  • Headset (headphone and mic), or microphone and speakers
  • Access to audio recording software
Back to Top