Courses


Course Descriptions

Intermediate Spanish I - SPAN 2001

Description

A rapid review of grammar with continued use of listening, speaking, and reading and writing skills in Spanish, all with a cultural emphasis.


Name Office Phone Email
Mario Alba-Manzana University of North Georgia
namario.alba@ung.edu
Mary Barnard Fort Valley State University
478-825-6690barnardm@fvsu.edu
Edris Brannen Valdosta State University
229-333-2169elbrannen@valdosta.edu
Tiffany Briceno South Georgia State College
912-260-4299tbriceno@sgsc.edu
Darren Broome Gordon State College
678-359-5335dbroome@gordonstate.edu
Myung Sylvia Choi Georgia Gwinnett College
678-471-5000mchoi3@ggc.edu
Chary-Sy Copeland Columbus State University
706-507-8883copeland_charysy@columbusstate.edu
Elizabeth "Betsy" Dahms University of West Georgia
678-839-5967edahms@westga.edu
LaSonia Espino Clayton State University
678-466-4719LasoniaEspino@clayton.edu
Fenton Gardner University of North Georgia
706-864-1868fenton.gardner@ung.edu
Bridgette Gunnels Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
404-719-1654gunnelsecore@gmail.com
David Hair University of North Georgia
706-618-2712david.hair@ung.edu
Tiffany Haymore University of North Georgia
706-310-6253tiffany.haymore@ung.edu
Bonnie Holmes University of North Georgia
678-717-3639Bonnie.Holmes@ung.edu
Yihsin Nicolas Hu University of North Georgia
706-867-4567YihsinNicolas.Hu@ung.edu
Armand Jones Kennesaw State University
770-423-6366ajone180@kennesaw.edu
Ashley Lane Fort Valley State University
478-825-6973lanea@fvsu.edu
Guadalupe Madrid South Georgia State College
912-260-4299gm@sgsc.edu
Natalie McManus Chu Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4701nmcmanus@atlm.edu
Rosaria Meek University of North Georgia
706-310-6201rosaria.meek@ung.edu
Dennis Miller Clayton State University
404-354-2666dennismiller@clayton.edu
Lisa Noetzel College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5881lnoetzel@ccga.edu
Stacey Powell University of West Georgia
334-844-6381spowell@westga.edu
Matthew Putman Georgia Perimeter College
678-212-7516mputman@gpc.edu
Genevieve Sesterhenn Albany State University
229-317-6876genevieve.sesterhenn@asurams.edu
Mariana Stone University of North Georgia
706-482-8948mariana.stone@ung.edu
Marquita Torres Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404756-4013mtorres@atlm.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook

  • See course syllabus for details

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Comprehend oral and written forms and communicate on a variety of topics in Spanish. To achieve this level of communication, students must be able to negotiate Spanish in all major time frames, and must possess the grammatical and cultural skills to function in basic daily situations, to give short descriptions of objects, people, and places, to express feelings, and to present a simple opinion.
  • Demonstrate an understanding of their languages and cultures in relation to the practices, products, and perspectives of the culture(s) of Spanish speaking countries.
  • Reinforce and further their knowledge of other disciplines through Spanish.
  • Show evidence of enrichment through an authentic experience in Spanish.
  • Lesson 1 - Las Relaciones Personales
  • Lesson 2 - Las Diversiones
  • Lesson 3 - La Vida Diaria
  • Lesson 4 - La Salud y El Bienestar
  • Lesson 5 - Los Viajes

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Check-In Discussion Boards – 5%
  • Discussion Boards – 15%
  • Voice Boards – 15%
  • Quizzes – 10%
  • Supersite Activities – 10%
  • Web-Sam Activities – 10%
  • Final Project – 5%
  • Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final Exam – 15%

You are required to have access to a headset (headphones and mic) or headphones/speakers and microphone to create audio recordings in some of your assignments.

Back to Top