Courses


Course Descriptions

Intermediate Spanish II - SPAN 2002

Description

This course focuses on listening, speaking, and reading and writing skills in Spanish in an introduction to literature and within a cultural context.


Name Office Phone Email
Mary Barnard Fort Valley State University
478-825-6690barnardm@fvsu.edu
Edris Brannen Valdosta State University
229-333-2169elbrannen@valdosta.edu
Darren Broome Gordon State College
678-359-5335dbroome@gordonstate.edu
Maria Calatayud University of North Georgia
706-864-1483mcalatayud@ung.edu
Betsy Dahms University of West Georgia
678-839-5967edahms@westga.edu
LaSonia Espino Clayton State University
678-466-4719LasoniaEspino@clayton.edu
Fenton Gardner University of North Georgia
706-864-1868fenton.gardner@ung.edu
Bridgette Gunnels Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
404-719-1654gunnelsecore@gmail.com
David Hair University of North Georgia
706-618-2712david.hair@ung.edu
Tiffany Haymore University of North Georgia
706-310-6253tiffany.haymore@ung.edu
Yihsin Nicolas Hu University of North Georgia
706-867-4567YihsinNicolas.Hu@ung.edu
Kyle Lawton UWG
klawton@westga.edu
Lisa Noetzel College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5881lnoetzel@ccga.edu
Teresa Perez-Gamboa University of Georgia
706-542-3972perezt@uga.edu
Stacey Powell University of West Georgia
334-844-6381spowell@westga.edu
Genevieve Sesterhenn Albany State University
229-317-6876genevieve.sesterhenn@asurams.edu
Mariana Stone University of North Georgia
706-482-8948mariana.stone@ung.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook

  • See course syllabus for details

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Comprehend oral and written forms and communicate on a variety of topics in Spanish. To achieve this level of communication, students must be able to negotiate Spanish in all major time frames, and must possess the grammatical and cultural skills to function in basic daily situations, to give short descriptions of objects, people, and places, to express feelings, and to present a simple opinion.
  • Demonstrate an understanding of their languages and cultures in relation to the practices, products, and perspectives of the culture(s) of Spanish speaking countries.
  • Reinforce and further their knowledge of other disciplines through Spanish.
  • Show evidence of enrichment through an authentic experience in Spanish.

This course is designed to provide you with the best online learning experience possible. The content is presented in a variety of formats including online content, multimedia tutorials, quizzes and opportunities for interaction with other students and the instructor.

There are five (5) Lessons in this course:

  • Lesson 6: La naturaleza

  • Lesson 7: La tecnología y la ciencia

  • Lesson 8: La economía y el trabajo

  • Lesson 9: La cultura popular y los medios de comunicación

  • Lesson 10: La literatura y el arte

Each Lesson is divided into modules based on topic. Be sure to progress through these modules in order. You will have the following in each lesson:

  • Overview

  • Vocabulary

  • Grammar

  • Assessments

Your vocabulary and grammar modules each contain instructional material, practice opportunities, and homework assignments. You have three attempts for the homework assignments. The assessments module contains the overall lesson assessments. These include discussion activities, voice boards, self assessments, and your main lesson quiz

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Midterm Exam - 10%
  • Final Exam - 15%
  • Homework - 20%
  • Quizzes - 10%
  • Voice Boards - 15%
  • Discussion Boards - 15%
  • Final Project - 10%
  • Check-in Discussion Boards - 5%

You are required to have access to a headset (headphones and mic) or headphones/speakers and microphone to create audio recordings in some of your assignments.

Back to Top