Courses


Course Descriptions

Introductory Biology and LAB – BIOL 1011K

Description

An introduction to fundamental unifying principles in biology. Topics covered in the course include: chemistry of life, cell structure and membranes, cellular functions (metabolism, respiration, photosynthesis, communication, and reproduction), genetics (inheritance patterns, DNA structure and function, gene expression, and biotechnology), and evolution. This course involves both lecture and lab components.


Name Office Phone Email
Christopher Beals Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5270cbeals@abac.edu
Valerie Crouse University of West Georgia
vcrouse@westga.edu
Victor Esenabhalu South Georgia State College
912-260-4214victor.esenabhalu@sgsc.edu
Candice Flowe Chatman Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-668-7595cflowe@atlm.edu
Richard Foreman Albany State University
229-317-6448Richard.Foreman@asurams.edu
Latanya Hammonds-Odie Georgia Gwinnett College
lhammond@ggc.edu
Alvin Harmon Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4056aharmon@atlm.edu
Thomas Harnden Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8528tharnden@highlands.edu
Jenny Harper Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-243-3173jennifer.harper@abac.edu
Brandon Henry Albany State University
brandon.henry@asurams.edu
Jody Klann University of North Georgia
jkklann@yahoo.com
May Liu Albany State University
MAY.LIU@ASURAMS.EDU
Mitch Lockhart Valdosta State University
0jmlockha@valdosta.edu
Andrew Meyer Dalton State College
706-272-2491ameyer@daltonstate.edu
Bryan Mitchell Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-2733bmitchell@atlm.edu
Hussein Mohamed Dalton State College
706-272-2196hmohamed@daltonstate.edu
Ejiroghene Ogaga Georgia Highlands College
eogaga@highlands.edu
Eleanor Schut University of North Georgia
706-310-6235eleanor.schut@ung.edu
Mindy Smith University of West Georgia
mindys@westga.edu
Nicole Stott University of North Georgia
nicole.stott@ung.edu
Nicole Strong Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4444nstrong@atlm.edu
Christopher Tabit University of West Georgia
ctabit@westga.edu
Eric Wruck East Georgia State College
478-289-2010ewruck@ega.edu
Doug Wyatt Albany State University
doug.wyatt@asurams.edu
4

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Determine reputable sources of scientific information.
  • Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the following topics:
    • Basic biological principles
    • Basic chemical nature of living things (e.g., chemistry, carbon, water, and thermodynamics)
    • Basic chemical processes involved in living organisms (e.g., respiration, photosynthesis, and metabolism)
  • Apply the scientific method, including designing controlled experiments to test variables, collecting and analyzing data and reporting and interpreting results in a scientific manner.
  • Explain the functions, structures and reproduction of both prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells.
  • Explain the molecular functions of genes and how genetic traits are inherited.
  • Unit 1: Introduction to Biology
    • Lab: Lab Safety
    • Lab: Microscope
  • Unit 2: Chemistry of Life
    • Lab: The Chemistry of Life
  • Unit 3: Cell and Membranes
    • Lab: Osmosis
    • Lab: Diffusion
  • Unit 4: Metabolic Pathways and the Production of Energy
    • Lab: Enzymes
    • Lab: Cellular Respiration
  • Unit 5: Photosynthesis
    • Lab: Energy and Photosynthesis
  • Unit 6: Cell Division
    • Lab: Mitosis
  • Unit 7: Sexual Reproduction
    • Lab: Meiosis
  • Unit 8: Patterns of Inheritance
    • Lab: Mendelian Genetics
  • Unit 9: Molecular Biology
    • Lab: DNA and RNA
  • Unit 10: Biotechnology
    • Lab: Biomolecular Techniques

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance Verification - 1%
  • Discussions - 10%
  • Quizzes - 25%
  • Lab Activities - 25%
  • Assignments - 9%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%

Please see this attached document for additional lab materials.

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top