Courses


Course Descriptions

Introduction to Philosophy – PHIL 2010

Description

Introduction to the central issues, questions, and theories of Western Philosophy. Topics covered include logic & critical thinking; religion; knowledge & skepticism; philosophy of mind; freedom and determinism; and ethics.


Name Office Phone Email
Clayton Bohnet University of West Georgia
770-854-5369claytonbohnet@gmail.com
Michael Bradley Georgia Perimeter College-Online Campus
678-212-7509Michael.Bradley@gpc.edu
Benjamin Buckley Clayton State University
675-466-4804benjaminbuckley@clayton.edu
James Butler University of West Georgia
jamesb@westga.edu
Dexter Christian University of North Georgia
404-769-1653Dexter.Christian@ung.edu
Russell Crawford Georgia Highlands College
rcrawford@highlands.edu
Brian Davy Fort Valley State University
706-975-3264davyb@fvsu.edu
Yi Deng University of North Georgia
yi.deng@ung.edu
Aaron Dopf Clayton State University
678-466-4813aarondopf@clayton.edu
James Grindeland University of North Georgia
706-372-5899james.grindeland@ung.edu
Brett Hackett Valdosta State University
229-219-1353behackett@valdosta.edu
James Edward Hackett Savannah State University
912-358-3347Hackettj@savannahstate.edu
William Harper Georgia Highlands College
843-566-5143wharper@highlands.edu
Todd Hoffman Augusta University
706-667-4449thoffma1@augusta.edu
Christine James Valdosta State University
229-259-7609chjames@valdosta.edu
Joseph Johnson University of North Georgia
978-994-6029joseph.johnson@ung.edu
Sanjay Lal Clayton State University
678-466-4876sanjaylal@clayton.edu
David Leonard University of North Georgia
david.leonard@ung.edu
Lavonna Lovern Valdosta State University
229-333-7376llovern@valdosta.edu
Clay Morton Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5750clay.morton@mga.edu
Alan Nichols Georgia Highlands College
anichols@highlands.edu
Nathan Nobis University of North Georgia
nathan.nobis@ung.edu
Gayle Ormiston University of North Georgia
gayle.ormiston@ung.edu
Ray Peace Valdosta State University
229-333-7432jrpeace@valdosta.edu
Walter Riker University of West Georgia
678-839-4888wriker@westga.edu
Matthew Schneider College of Coastal Georgia
706-224-3795mschnei@gmail.com
Robert Scott University of North Georgia
Robert.H.Scott@ung.edu
Murray Skees Savannah State University
912-358-3346murrayskees@yahoo.com
Kencho Tenzin Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8520ktenzin@highlands.edu
Jenna Thrasher-Sneathen Gordon State College
jthrasher-sneathen@gordonstate.edu
Deborah Vess East Georgia State College
dlvess@ega.edu
Jack Waskey Dalton State College
706-272-2691jwaskey@daltonstate.edu
George Wrisley University of North Georgia
770-883-0676gwrisley@northgeorgia.edu
Lisa Yount Savannah State University
912-358-3328yountl@savannahstate.edu
Carmen Zinn University of West Georgia
czinn@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Explain, justify, and criticize major positions in central areas of philosophical inquiry as follows:
    • Logic: Use the tools and concepts of logic and critical thinking to evaluate and criticize arguments.
    • Religion: Explain and evaluate major arguments concerning the nature and existence of God.
    • Knowledge: Explain and evaluate major arguments concerning knowledge and skepticism.
    • Mind-Body: Explain and evaluate major arguments concerning the mind-body dualism.
    • Freedom: Explain and evaluate major arguments concerning freedom and determinism.
    • Ethics: Explain, evaluate, and apply major ethical theories.
  • Think, argue, and write clearly and cogently about philosophical issues.
  • Demonstrate a basic understanding of the key concepts of logic and critical thinking.
  • Engage in philosophical discourse by offering and effectively responding to arguments.
  • Unit 1 – What is Philosophy?
  • Unit 2 – Self, Identity, and Consciousness
  • Unit 3 – Epistemology
  • Unit 4 – Free Will and Determinism
  • Unit 5 – Ethics
  • Unit 6 – The Meaning of Life

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance Verification - 1%
  • Participation & Discussion - 24%
  • Quizzes - 20%
  • Writing Assignments - 25%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.