Courses


Course Descriptions

Introduction to General Psychology - PSYC 1101

Description

A broad survey of the major topics in psychology including, but not limited to, research methodology, biological and social factors influencing behavior, development, learning, memory, and personality.


Name Office Phone Email
Timothy Pierce-Tomlin University of North Georgia
Timothy.Pierce-Tomlin@ung.edu
David Biek Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2905david.biek@mga.edu
Carla Bluhm College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5884cbluhm@ccga.edu
Alicia Briganti Dalton State University
abriganti@daltonstate.edu
J. Sean Callahan Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8542scallaha@highlands.edu
Janet Camp University of Georgia
706-542-2273jcamp@uhs.uga.edu
Kelly Cate University of North Georgia
706-864-1444kelly.cate@ung.edu
Doris Michelle Davis Savannah State University
912-659-7050davisdm@savannahstate.edu
Molly Day Middle Georgia State College
Molly.Day@abac.edu
Ramona Dennison South Georgia State College
912-260-4248ramona.dennison@sgsc.edu
Jason Garofalo University of West Georgia
678-839-6510jgarofal@westga.edu
Paul Gladden Middle Georgia State College
paul.gladden@mga.edu
Reba Goodin Albany State University
229-886-1579reba.goodin@ung.edu
Jonathan Gulledge Dalton State College
706-272-2019jgulledge@daltonstate.edu
Nihal Gunay University of West Georgia
678-839-6510ngunay@westga.edu
Nancy Gup Georgia Perimeter College
404-423-1185ngup@gsu.edu
Kathryn Henderson Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-220-7453kathryn.dumper@abac.edu
Jennifer Herrig Dalton State University
jennifer.herrig@daltonstate.edu
Candis Hill University of North Georgia
706-867-2782candis.hill@ung.edu
Lesley Hite University of North Georgia
706-946-5464alison.hite@ung.edu
Charles Huffman Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2316charles.huffman@gsw.edu
AJ Jackson Georgia Northwestern Technical College
912-358-3233ajjackson6@yahoo.com
Richard LaFleur University of West Georgia
rlafleur@westga.edu
Deborah Lee East Georgia State College
0dlee@ega.edu
Kimberly Mannahan College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5889kmannahan@ccga.edu
Hema Mason Albany State University
229-430-4456hema.mason@asurams.edu
Travis McKie-Voerste Dalton State College
706-272-4430tmckie@daltonstate.edu
Antoinette Miller Clayton State University
678-466-4834antoinettemiller@clayton.edu
Beth Rene Roepnack University of West Georgia
678-839-5237broepnac@westga.edu
Sherry Serdikoff Savannah State University
912-358-3233serdikoffs@savannahstate.edu
Brandi Williams University of North Georgia
706-897-2552brandi.williams@ung.edu
Stephanie Wright Georgia Highlands College
stwright@highlands.edu
Eric Wruck East Georgia State College
478-289-2010ewruck@ega.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Apply course content to everyday life - making better decisions; enhancing relationships; increasing self-understanding.
  • Recognize that human experience & behavior vary as a function of context, culture & situation.
  • Identify, understand & contrast fundamental psychology perspectives within an historical context; past, present & future trajectory.
  • Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the major methods of scientific inquiry.
  • Understand the relation among mind, body, consciousness, behavior.
  • Relate the importance of objectivity in scientific inquiry to the inherently subjective nature of human experience.
  • Lesson 1: Introduction to Psychology
  • Lesson 2: Research Methods
  • Lesson 3: Biopsychology and Neuroscience
  • Lesson 4: Learning
  • Lesson 5: Memory
  • Lesson 6: Development
  • Lesson 7: Personality
  • Lesson 8: Psychological Disorders
  • Lesson 9: Therapy and Treatment
  • Lesson 10: Social Psychology

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions - 15%
  • Lesson Quizzes - 20%
  • Assignments/Projects - 30%
  • Reflection Exercises - 5%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top