Courses


Course Descriptions

Introduction to Sociology - SOCI 1101

Description

A survey of the discipline of sociology. Topics will include sociological theory, methods and selected substantive area.


Name Office Phone Email
Stephanie Alexander Savannah State University
912-358-3234alexander@savannahstate.edu
Jeremy Bennett University of North Georgia
470-239-3123jeremy.bennett@ung.edu
Mikhail Beznosov University of West Georgia
678-839-6504mbeznosov@westga.edu
Angela Brodsky University of West Georgia
770-624-3030abrodsky@westga.edu
Kelley Christopher University of West Georgia
678-839-4893kchristo@westga.edu
Emmie Cochran-Jackson Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2445emmie.cochranjackson@mga.edu
Thomas Dailey Columbus State University
nadailey_thomas@columbusstate.edu
Donald Davis Dalton State College
202-507-8941ddavis@daltonstate.edu
Kevin Demmitt Clayton State University
678-466-4802kevindemmitt@clayton.edu
Kathleen Dolan Georgia State University
678-212-7508kdolan@gsu.edu
Hassan El-Najjar Dalton State College
706-272-2674helnajjar@daltonstate.edu
Caroline Fielding Albany State University
229-317-6553caroline.fielding@asurams.edu
Christy Flatt Gordon State College
678-359-5555cflatt@gordonstate.edu
Jason Goodner Albany State University
229-317-6803jason.goodner@asurams.edu
Bobbi Hancock South Georgia State College
912-260-4256bobbi.hancock@sgsc.edu
Wayne Koye Korbl University of West Georgia
678-839-5000kkorbl1@my.westga.edu
Brett Larson East Georgia State College
blarson@ega.edu
Naomi Latini Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2786naomi.latini@gsw.edu
Meggie Miller University of West Georgia
nameggiem@westga.edu
Richard Newtson Columbus State University
706-507-8705newtson_richard@columbusstate.edu
Tiffany Parsons University of West Georgia
678-839-6335tparsons@westga.edu
Pamela Pitman Brown Albany State University
229-430-4896pamela.brown@asurams.edu
Jewrell Rivers Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5088jrivers@abac.edu
Michael Stewart Bainbridge State College
229-248-2561michael.stewart@abac.edu
Josh Stovall Georgia Highlands College
jstovall@highlands.edu
Jennifer Weber University of West Georgia
jweber@wwestga.edu
Marla Wilks University of West Georgia
678-839-3786mwilks@westga.edu
Viviene Wood University of West Georgia
678-839-6505vwood@westga.edu
James Wright Dalton State College
706-727-2539jwrigh11@daltonstate.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Compare, contrast, and apply the basic theoretical paradigms of sociology (Structural-Functional, Social-Conflict, and Symbolic-Interaction) and analyze two or more phenomena in society using the three perspectives.
  • Identify and define the steps of the research process and evaluate claims (made in the research literature or by the media) in terms of validity, reliability, appropriate research methodology, and practical application.
  • Define, identify, and explain culture, socialization, social interaction, groups, and social organization as basic building blocks of society and social experience and to apply this knowledge to explain why people conform to or deviate from societal expectations.
  • Explain social stratification using theoretical perspectives to analyze economic, racial/ethnic, and gender inequality in a societal context.
  • Explain social structure, provide examples of social structure (both at the macro and micro level), and to be able to express how important social institutions (such as family, religion, education, medicine, and others) shape society and social experience.
  • Identify and interpret the impact of basic demographic trends in society and discuss mechanisms of social change.
  • Lesson 1: Sociology and Sociological Theory
  • Lesson 2: Research Methods
  • Lesson 3: Culture
  • Lesson 4: Socialization
  • Lesson 5: Groups and Organizations
  • Lesson 6: Inequalities
  • Lesson 7: Deviance
  • Lesson 8: Class, Power, and Status
  • Lesson 9: Social Institutions

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Writing Assignments – 25%
  • Discussion/Participation – 25%
  • Lesson Quizzes – 20%
  • Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final Exam – 15%
Back to Top