Courses


Course Descriptions

Introduction to Mathematical Modeling - MATH 1101

Description

This course is an introduction to mathematical modeling using graphical, numerical, symbolic, and verbal techniques to describe and explore real-world data and phenomena. Emphasis is on the use of elementary functions to investigate and analyze applied problems and questions, supported by the use of appropriate technology, and on effective communication of quantitative concepts and results.


Name Office Phone Email
Agegnehu Atena Savannah State University
912-655-0651atenaa@savannahstate.edu
Susan Carroll Georgia Highlands College
678-378-4152sdcarroll.estep@gmail.com
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Charles Mark Henderson Clayton State University
770-845-0528chenderson5@mail.clayton.edu
Nancy Henderson University of North Georgia
706-867-2783nancy.henderson@ung.edu
Penny Hidalgo University of West Georgia
770-531-6300phidalgo@westga.edu
Luba Ibrahim Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8544librahim@highlands.edu
Avijit Kar Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5107akar@abac.edu
Sujin Kim Savannah State University
912-358-4302kims@savannahstate.edu
Patti Lord Bainbridge State College
229-220-5733plord@bainbridge.edu
Suzie Lusk Clayton State University
678-359-5463slusk@clayton.edu
Tilahun Muche Savannah State University
912-358-4305muchet@savannahstate.edu
Stephanie Mungle Columbus State University
573-990-7090stephaniemungle@gmail.com
Masoud Naghedolfeizi Fort Valley State University
478-825-6612feizim@fvsu.edu
Rhonda Porter Albany State University
229-430-4722rhonda.porter@asurams.edu
Bhukan Rathore Georgia Highlands College
678-946-1025brathore@highlands.edu
Danielle Rivard College of Coastal Georgia
203-577-8098drivard@ccga.edu
Lila Roberts Clayton State University
678-466-4404lilaroberts@clayton.edu
Karen R. Rollins University of West Georgia
678-839-0695krollins@westga.edu
Barry Rollins University of West Georgia
770-328-0202brollins@westga.edu
Latriece Tanksley Savannah State University
912-358-3296tanksleyl@savannahstate.edu
Patcharin Tragoonsirisak-Marion Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199tragoonsirisakp@fvsu.edu
Steven Wallace Middle Georgia State University
478-475-8624steven.wallace@mga.edu
Mary Wolfe Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2063mary.wolfe@mga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Understand the concept and basic properties of functions.
  • Understand the concept and basic properties of linear functions.
  • Understand the concept and basic properties of quadratic functions.
  • Understand the concept and basic properties of polynomials.
  • Understand the concept and properties of exponential functions.
  • Understand the concept and basic properties of logarithms.
  • Understand the concept and basic properties of piecewise-defined functions.
  • Lesson 1 - Introduction to Functions
  • Lesson 2 - Functions, Graphs, Solving and Applications
  • Lesson 3 - Linear Functions
  • Lesson 4 - Quadratic Functions
  • Lesson 5 - Power an Polynomial Functions
  • Lesson 6 - Exponential Functions
  • Lesson 7 - Logarithmic Functions
  • Lesson 8 - Piecewise-Defined Functions

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 10%
  • Online Quizzes – 20%
  • Online Tests (4) – 40%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Proctored Final Exam – 15%

TI-83 plus or TI-84 plus calculator

Back to Top