Courses


Course Descriptions

Music Appreciation – MUSC 1100

Description

An introduction to music history, music literature, and critical listening skills.


Name Office Phone Email
Molly Breckling University of West Georgia
678-839-2432mbreckli@westga.edu
Thomas Heflin Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5253theflin@abac.edu
Joel Johnson Albany State University
229-420-7029Joel.Johnson@asurams.edu
Rebecca Johnston University of North Georgia
rebecca.johnston@ung.edu
Jeff Kluball Albany State University
229-317-6856jeffrey.kluball@asurams.edu
Mark Laughlin Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2250mark.laughlin@gsw.edu
Luca Lombardi University of North Georgia
706-864-1423luca.lombardi@ung.edu
Harry Nelson University of West Georgia
678-839-4903hnelson@westga.edu
Masoud Nourizadeh Gordon State College
namnourizadeh@gordonstate.edu
Robert Plato Gordon State College
splato@gordonstate.edu
Slava Prudchenko Georgia State University - Perimeter College
678-729-7089sprudchenko@gsu.edu
Benjamin Schoening University of North Georgia
678-717-3676Benjamin.Schoening@ung.edu
Mike Weaver University of North Georgia
706-632-2081mweaver@fannin.k12.ga.us
John Wilborn University of West Georgia
jwilborn@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Recognize various elements, styles, composers, and major historical periods of music. 
  • Identify and discuss genres and uses of music.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of the historical and cultural context of musical styles and periods.
  • Analyze and make critical judgments of music listening experiences utilizing appropriate terms and concepts. 
  • Unit 1 – Music Fundamentals
  • Unit 2 – Middle Ages & Renaissance
  • Unit 3 – Music of the Baroque Period
  • Midterm
  • Unit 4 – Music of the Classical Period
  • Unit 5 – 19th Century & Romanticism
  • Unit 6 – 20th Century & Beyond
  • Unit 7 – Popular Music in the United States
  • Unit 8 – Pulling it all together – Course Recap

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 25%
  • Quizzes – 20%
  • Assignments – 20%
  • Concert Critiques (2) – 10%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam – 10%
Back to Top