Courses


Course Descriptions

Precalculus - MATH 1113

Description

This course is an intensive study of the basic functions needed for the study of calculus. Topics include algebraic, functional, and graphical techniques for solving problems with algebraic, exponential, logarithmic, and trigonometric functions and their inverses.


Name Office Phone Email
Dawit Aberra Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199aberrad@fvsu.edu
Abdelkader Agoun University of West Georgia
678-839-4141aagoun@westga.edu
Allison W. Arnold University of Georgia
706-542-2645awarnold@uga.edu
Agegnehu Atena Savannah State University
912-655-0651atenaa@savannahstate.edu
James "Jim" Bellon University of West Georgia
678-839-4140jbellon@westga.edu
Duane Benson South Georgia State College
912-381-0385duane.benson@sgsc.edu
Kaila Caldwell Atlanta Metropolitan State College
678-623-1310kcaldwell@atlm.edu
Kyle Carter University of West Georgia
770-826-3470kylec@westga.edu
Ronald Chilluffo University of West Georgia
678-839-5544rchilluf@westga.edu
David Cook Kennesaw State University
706-968-2641dcook47@kennesaw.edu
Anilkumar Devarapu Albany State University
229-430-4888anilkumar.devarapu@asurams.edu
Malcom Devoe University of West Georgia
678-768-4692mdevoe@westga.edu
Thomas Gonzalez Dalton State College
706-272-2488tgonzalez@daltonstate.edu
Xiaofeng Gu University of West Georgia
naxgu@westga.edu
Muhammad Inam University of West Georgia
naminam@westga.edu
Avijit Kar Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5107akar@abac.edu
Abdollah Khodkar University of West Georgia
678-839-4126akhodkar@westga.edu
Sujin Kim Savannah State University
912-358-4302kims@savannahstate.edu
Joris Kwakye University of West Georgia
678-839-6489jkwakye@westga.edu
Joshua Lambert Armstrong State University
912-344-3127joshua.lambert@armstrong.edu
Viktoriya Lanier Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3373viktoriya.lanier@mga.edu
Barry Monk Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2887barry.monk@mga.edu
Tilahun Muche Savannah State University
912-358-4305muchet@savannahstate.edu
Masoud Naghedolfeizi Fort Valley State University
478-825-6612feizim@fvsu.edu
Gary Nelson Georgia Gwinnett College
678-691-7458gnelson@ggc.edu
Eze Nwaogu Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4718enwaogu@atlm.edu
Chinenye Ofodile Albany State University
229-430-2946chinenye.ofodile@asurams.edu
Floyd Vince Postell Dalton State College
706-272-4419vpostell@daltonstate.edu
Kishore Pradhan South Georgia State College
kishore.pradhan@sgsc.edu
Lila Roberts Clayton State University
678-466-4404lilaroberts@clayton.edu
Barry Rollins University of West Georgia
770-328-0202brollins@westga.edu
Robert Staples University of West Georgia
678-839-4139rstaples@westga.edu
Latriece Tanksley Savannah State University
912-358-3296tanksleyl@savannahstate.edu
Michael Tiemeyer Armstrong State University
912-344-2929michael.tiemeyer@armstrong.edu
Patcharin Tragoonsirisak-Marion Fort Valley State University
478-825-6199tragoonsirisakp@fvsu.edu
Amanda Urquhart Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5124aurquhart@abac.edu
Wesley Whitehead Bainbridge State College
334-596-3103wesley.whitehead@bainbridge.edu
Stanley Williams Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8099swilliam@highlands.edu
James Woods Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-788-4290jwoods7@hotmail.com
Mohammad Yazdani University of West Georgia
678-839-4132myazdani@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course the student will be able to:

  • Identify the characteristics of various functions such as:
    • definition of a function
    • domain and range
    • average rate of change
    • algebraic combinations
    • composition
    • inverse functions
  • Sketch and analyze the graphs of algebraic, trigonometric, exponential, logarithmic, and inverse trigonometric functions.
  • Set up and solve word problems using algebraic, trigonometric, exponential, logarithmic, and inverse trigonometric functions.
  • Solve equations using algebraic, trigonometric, exponential, logarithmic, and inverse trigonometric functions.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of the basic trigonometric identities and formulas.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of basic properties of logarithmic and exponentials functions.
  • Analyze when the use of technology is appropriate and when to apply the technology.
  • Unit 1 – Equations
  • Unit 2 – Functions
  • Unit 3 – Polynomial Functions
  • Unit 4 – Rational Functions
  • Unit 5 – Exponential and Logarithmic Functions
  • Unit 6 – Introduction to Trigonometric Functions
  • Unit 7 – Graphs of Trigonometric Functions and Inverse Trigonometric Functions
  • Unit 8 – Analytic Geometry
  • Unit 9 – Applications of Trigonometry

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussion – 5%
  • Quizzes – 15%
  • Online Exams (4) – 40%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam – 20%
  • Proctored Final Exam – 20%

The use of a calculator is required for this course:
The information and instructions in this course are designed for and geared towards the Texas Instruments Calculator, TI-83. The calculator tutorial supplied in this course is designed around the TI-83. Support or help from your instructor will not be provided for any other calculator. Therefore, it is in your best interest to make your calculator purchase the TI-83.

Back to Top