Courses


Course Descriptions

Principles of Chemistry I and LAB - CHEM 1211K

Description

The first course in a two-semester sequence covering the fundamental principles and applications of chemistry designed for science majors. Topics to be covered include composition of matter, stoichiometry, periodic relations, and nomenclature.

Students enrolling in eCore lab science courses are advised to consult with transferring institution to determine transferability of course credits.

Important Lab Information

Important Lab Information

This course has a laboratory component that requires you to purchase a lab kit. More information can be found below. You are encouraged to purchase the kit and begin gathering the additional materials as soon as possible.

The cost for option one includes lab material for CHEM 1211K (See Option 1 lab material list).

  • Lab Kit Cost for option 1 - $189.00

The cost for option two includes lab material for both CHEM 1211K & CHEM 1212K (See Option 2 lab material list).

  • Lab Kit Cost for option 2 - $260.00

Price does not include sales tax, shipping and handling.


Name Office Phone Email
Ali Akdeniz Dalton State College
706-272-4522aakdeniz@daltonstate.edu
Ghazia Asif University of West Georgia
770-310-3061gasif@westga.edu
Timothy Martin Ayers University of West Georgia
404-962-3066tayers@westga.edu
Jennifer Barber Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-2792jbarber@atlm.edu
David Boatright University of West Georgia
678-839-6028dboatrig@westga.edu
Sabitra Brush Bainbridge State College
229-248-2500sabitra.brush@bainbridge.edu
Cedrick Daphney Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-840-4485cdaphney@atlm.edu
Aubrey Dyer Clayton State University
aubreydyer@clayton.edu
Anne Gaquere-Parker University of West Georgia
678-839-6026agaquere@westga.edu
Linda Grisham University of North Georgia
770-880-5939linda.grisham@ung.edu
Tzvetelin Iordanov Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2333tzvetelin.iordanov@gsw.edu
Farooq Khan University of West Georgia
678-839-6027fkhan@westga.edu
Michael May Albany State University
229-317-6848Michael.May@asurams.edu
Morgan McConico-Lewis Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
mmcconicolewis@abac.edu
Ken McGill Georgia College and State University
478-445-5271ken.mcgill@gcsu.edu
Joshua Morris Georgia Gwinnett College
404-450-8047jmorris14@ggc.edu
Cass Parker University of West Georgia
404-880-6858cparker@westga.edu
Shuvasree Ray Albany State University
229-317-6559Shuvasree.Ray@asurams.edu
Doug Stuart University of West Georgia
678-839-6022dstuart@westga.edu
Cheryl Sundberg Archive
205-908-4896sundbergc@bellsouth.net
Omar Villanueva Georgia Gwinnett College
706-272-2194ovillanueva@ggc.edu
Katy Zimmermann Georgia Gwinnett College
kzimmermann@ggc.edu
4

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

Lab Kit Ordering Instructions:

This course requires the purchase of a lab kit for you to perform real lab experiments remotely. These labs have been customized by your instructor and are required for course completion.


Order Directly from eScience Labs:
Follow the instructions below to order the Chemistry Lab Kit from eScience Labs:

  1. Go to www.esciencelabs.com
  2. Click on the ‘Create Account’ button in upper right hand corner
  3. Once your account is created, click on HAVE A CODE and enter the kit code below.
  4. Follow the checkout process

Online Order Code for CHEM 1211K: Kit4198


Online Order Code for CHEM 1211K & CHEM 1212K: Kit4197


Check with your bookstore:
Bookstores may offer lab kit vouchers that are redeemable with eScience Labs. Be sure to check with your bookstore for this option. To redeem your vouchers:

  1. Go to www.esciencelabs.com
  2. Click on the ‘Create Account’ button in upper right hand corner
  3. Once your account is created, click on HAVE A CODE and enter the kit code below.
  4. Follow the checkout process

Online Order Code: Use code from purchased voucher


Processing Timeline:

Please allow up to 2-4 business days to process your order and an additional 3-5 business days for delivery. eScience Labs ships all lab kits through standard UPS Ground.  Kits may be expedited for an additional charge if needed. Please call 1-888-ESL-KITS for more information.


Getting Help from eScience Labs:

If you need any assistance ordering your kit, please contact eScience Labs Customer Support team via our website at www.esciencelabs.com/support.

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the following topics
    • Matter and measurement
    • Reactions and reaction stoichiometry
    • Thermochemistry
    • Properties of gases
    • Periodic properties of elements
    • Atomic structure, chemical bonding, and molecular bonding theories
  • Use correct chemical nomenclature, structural symbols, and terminology to accurately communicate in Standard English chemical principles, theories, and processes.
  • Employ critical thinking and systematic methods to solve problems, including conceptual and quantitative problems.
  • Demonstrate an awareness of the role of chemistry in everyday life
  • Apply the rules of laboratory safety
  • Collect and analyze scientific data, formulate appropriate conclusions from data analyses, and communicate findings.
  • Lab Safety
    • Safety Lab
  • Unit 1: Essential Ideas
    • Measurement, Numbers, & Dimensional Analysis Lab
  • Unit 2: Atoms, Molecules, & Ions
    • Density Lab
  • Unit 3: Composition of Substances & Solutions
    • Solutions Lab 
  • Unit 4: Stoichiometry of Chemical Reactions
    • Acid-Base Titration Lab
  • Unit 5: Thermochemistry
    • Heat Capacity Lab
  • Unit 6: Electronic Structure and Periodic Properties of Elements
    • Nature of Light Lab 
  • Unit 7: Chemical Bonding and Molecular Geometry
    • Lewis Structures Lab
  • Unit 8: Advanced Theories of Covalent Bonding
    • VSEPR Lab
  • Unit 9: Gases
    • Antacids Lab

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Online Participation – 10%
  • Unit Quizzes – 25%
  • Lab Activities – 20%
  • Homework Exercises – 15%
  • * Midterm Exam – 15%
  • * Final Exam – 15%

Calculator with scientific notation and log abilities

Return policy for direct orders allows for unopened and/or unused kits to be returned within 30 days of purchase, with student assuming the cost of return shipping and 10% restocking fee.

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top