Courses


Course Descriptions

Principles of Chemistry I and LAB - CHEM 1211K

Description

The first course in a two-semester sequence covering the fundamental principles and applications of chemistry designed for science majors. Topics to be covered include composition of matter, stoichiometry, periodic relations, and nomenclature.

Students enrolling in eCore lab science courses are advised to consult with transferring institution to determine transferability of course credits.

Important Lab Information (Fall 2021 & Spring 2022 only)

This course requires specific lab materials. You can obtain these materials on your own. Be sure to check the lab material list for all necessary materials.

Students will not be allowed to stay in the course without lab materials unless a different arrangement has been made with the instructor.

Lab Kit Cost - $40.00 ~ $120.00

(This price range is an estimate only. Most items can be found in the household.)


Name Office Phone Email
Ali Akdeniz Dalton State College
706-272-4522aakdeniz@daltonstate.edu
Ghazia Asif University of West Georgia
770-310-3061gasif@westga.edu
Timothy Martin Ayers University of West Georgia
404-962-3066tayers@westga.edu
Jennifer Barber Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-2792jbarber@atlm.edu
Patrice Bell Georgia Gwinnett College
pbell@ggc.edu
David Boatright University of West Georgia
678-839-6028dboatrig@westga.edu
Rebekah Brosky Dalton State College
rbrosky@daltonstate.edu
Sabitra Brush University of North Georgia
229-248-2500sabitra.brush@ung.edu
Cedrick Daphney Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-840-4485cdaphney@atlm.edu
Tina Davis University of North Georgia
tinadavis@westminster.net
Aubrey Dyer Clayton State University
aubreydyer@clayton.edu
Neville Forlemu Georgia Gwinnett College
nforlemu@ggc.edu
Anne Gaquere-Parker University of West Georgia
678-839-6026agaquere@westga.edu
Linda Grisham University of North Georgia
770-880-5939linda.grisham@ung.edu
Tzvetelin Iordanov Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2333tzvetelin.iordanov@gsw.edu
Sharron Jenkins Georgia Gwinnett College
sjenkin2@ggc.edu
Farooq Khan University of West Georgia
678-839-6027fkhan@westga.edu
Ajay Mallia Georgia Gwinnett College
amallia@ggc.edu
Michael May Albany State University
229-317-6848Michael.May@asurams.edu
Morgan McConico-Lewis Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
mmcconicolewis@abac.edu
Ken McGill Georgia College and State University
478-445-5271ken.mcgill@gcsu.edu
Joshua Morris Georgia Gwinnett College
404-450-8047jmorris14@ggc.edu
Cass Parker University of West Georgia
404-880-6858cparker@westga.edu
Shuvasree Ray Albany State University
229-317-6559Shuvasree.Ray@asurams.edu
Doug Stuart University of West Georgia
678-839-6022dstuart@westga.edu
Cheryl Sundberg Archive
205-908-4896sundbergc@bellsouth.net
Victor Vilchiz Gordon State College
vvilchiz@gordonstate.edu
Omar Villanueva Georgia Gwinnett College
706-272-2194ovillanueva@ggc.edu
Katy Zimmermann Georgia Gwinnett College
kzimmermann@ggc.edu
4

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

This course requires specific lab materials. You can obtain these materials on your own. Be sure to check the lab material list for all necessary materials.

Students will not be allowed to stay in the course without lab materials unless a different arrangement has been made with the instructor.

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the following topics
    • Matter and measurement
    • Reactions and reaction stoichiometry
    • Thermochemistry
    • Properties of gases
    • Periodic properties of elements
    • Atomic structure, chemical bonding, and molecular bonding theories
  • Use correct chemical nomenclature, structural symbols, and terminology to accurately communicate in Standard English chemical principles, theories, and processes.
  • Employ critical thinking and systematic methods to solve problems, including conceptual and quantitative problems.
  • Demonstrate an awareness of the role of chemistry in everyday life
  • Apply the rules of laboratory safety
  • Collect and analyze scientific data, formulate appropriate conclusions from data analyses, and communicate findings.
  • Required to Complete - Lab 0: Safety & Supplies
  • Unit 1: Essential Ideas
  • Unit 2: Atoms, Molecules, & Ions
  • Unit 3: Composition of Substances & Solutions
  • Unit 4: Stoichiometry of Chemical Reactions
  • Midterm Study Guide & Exam
  • Unit 5: Thermochemistry
  • Unit 6: Electronic Structure & Periodic Properties of Elements
  • Unit 7: Chemical Bonding and Molecular Geometry
  • Unit 8: Gases
  • Final Study Guide & Exam

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance Verification - 1%
  • Participation & Homework - 20%
  • Unit Quizzes - 24%
  • Lab Activities - 25%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%

Calculator with scientific notation and log abilities

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top