Courses


Course Descriptions

Principles of Chemistry I and LAB - CHEM 1211K

Description

The first course in a two-semester sequence covering the fundamental principles and applications of chemistry designed for science majors. Topics to be covered include composition of matter, stoichiometry, periodic relations, and nomenclature.

Students enrolling in eCore lab science courses are advised to consult with transferring institution to determine transferability of course credits.

Important Lab Information

Coming Soon


Name Office Phone Email
Ali Akdeniz Dalton State College
706-272-4522aakdeniz@daltonstate.edu
David Boatright University of West Georgia
678-839-6028dboatrig@westga.edu
Sabitra Brush Bainbridge State College
229-248-2500sabitra.brush@bainbridge.edu
Cedrick Daphney Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-840-4485cdaphney@atlm.edu
Anne Gaquere-Parker University of West Georgia
678-839-6026agaquere@westga.edu
Linda Grisham University of North Georgia
770-880-5939linda.grisham@ung.edu
Tzvetelin Iordanov Georgia Southwestern State University
229-931-2333tzvetelin.iordanov@gsw.edu
Farooq A. Khan University of West Georgia
678-839-6027fkhan@westga.edu
Joshua Morris Georgia Gwinnett College
404-450-8047jmorris14@ggc.edu
Shuvasree Ray Albany State University
229-317-6559Shuvasree.Ray@asurams.edu
Spencer Slattery University of West Georgia
678-839-6016sslatt@westga.edu
Doug Stuart University of West Georgia
678-839-6022dstuart@westga.edu
Omar Villanueva Georgia Gwinnett College
706-272-2194ovillanueva@ggc.edu
4

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • MATH 1113 or equivalent

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the following topics
    • Matter and measurement
    • Reactions and reaction stoichiometry
    • Thermochemistry
    • Properties of gases
    • Periodic properties of elements
    • Atomic structure, chemical bonding, and molecular bonding theories
  • Use correct chemical nomenclature, structural symbols, and terminology to accurately communicate in Standard English chemical principles, theories, and processes.
  • Employ critical thinking and systematic methods to solve problems, including conceptual and quantitative problems.
  • Demonstrate an awareness of the role of chemistry in everyday life
  • Apply the rules of laboratory safety
  • Collect and analyze scientific data, formulate appropriate conclusions from data analyses, and communicate findings.
  • Lab Safety
    • Safety Lab
  • Unit 1: Essential Ideas
    • Measurement, Numbers, & Dimensional Analysis Lab
  • Unit 2: Atoms, Molecules, & Ions
    • Density Lab
  • Unit 3: Composition of Substances & Solutions
    • Solutions Lab 
  • Unit 4: Stoichiometry of Chemical Reactions
    • Acid-Base Titration Lab
  • Unit 5: Thermochemistry
    • Heat Capacity Lab
  • Unit 6: Electronic Structure and Periodic Properties of Elements
    • Nature of Light Lab 
  • Unit 7: Chemical Bonding and Molecular Geometry
    • Lewis Structures Lab
  • Unit 8: Advanced Theories of Covalent Bonding
    • VSEPR Lab
  • Unit 9: Gases
    • Antacids Lab

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Online Participation – 10%
  • Unit Quizzes – 25%
  • Lab Activities – 20%
  • Homework Exercises – 15%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Proctored Final Exam – 15%

Calculator with scientific notation and log abilities

To return items, please contact AquaPhoenix at 866-632-1291 or info@aquaphoenixsci.com for a return material authorization (RMA). They must be notified within 5 days of the receipt date for any return to be considered. The customer will be responsible for any return shipping charges of non-regulated material, except in cases of shipping errors made by AquaPhoenix. If the product being returned contains regulated material, a call tag will be issued along with the RMA. Credit will be made upon receipt and inspection that goods are received in new, re-sellable condition and a 35% restock fee will be deducted from the total credit.

Back to Top