Courses


Course Descriptions

U.S. History I - HIST 2111

Description

History 2111 is the history of the United States from the Age of Discovery through the Civil War. The course focuses on the geographical, intellectual, political, economic and cultural development of the American people and places U.S. events in the context of world politics.


Name Office Phone Email
Marshall Abuwi Augusta University
706-737-1745mabuwi@augusta.edu
Harry Akoh Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4716hakoh@atlm.edu
Haider Bhuiyan University of North Georgia
706-310-6254haider.bhuiyan@ung.edu
Robert Bob Bouwman University of North Georgia
864-944-2320robert.bouwman@ung.edu
Lou Brackett Clayton State University
678-466-4195loubrackett@clayton.edu
Michelle Brock University of North Georgia
706-864-1522michelle.brock@ung.edu
Ray F. Broussard University of Georgia
706-548-4788raybruce2@gmail.com
Edward "Ted" Butler Albany State University
229-317-6807edward.butler@asurams.edu
Tammy Byron Dalton State College
706-272-2693tbyron@daltonstate.edu
Toni Alexis Carter University of North Georgia
404-518-9604alexis.carter@ung.edu
Patrick Coleman Clayton State University
404-680-1371patrickcoleman@clayton.edu
Alisha Cromwell University of North Georgia
Alisha.Cromwell@ung.edu
Dorsey M. Deaton Georgia Perimeter College
770-469-7424dorseydeaton@gmail.com
Amy Dilmar Columbus State University
dilmar_amy@columbusstate.edu
Melissa Franklin Bainbridge State College
229-243-3170melissa.franklin@bainbridge.edu
Christy Garrison ATLM
cgarrisonharrison@atlm.edu
Kristen Griffin University of West Georgia
678-839-6508kgriffin@westga.edu
Christian Griggs Dalton State College
706-272-4602cagriggs@daltonstate.edu
James "Ridge" Harper Bainbridge State College
229-243-8851ridge.harper@bainbridge.edu
Courtney Joiner East Georgia State College
cjoiner@ega.edu
Michael Kirkland Bainbridge State College
229-248-2560mkirkland@bainbridge.edu
David Latona Albany State University
229-317-6816David.Latona@asurams.edu
Cathy Locks Fort Valley State University
478-718-7753clocks@westga.edu
David Mason Georgia Gwinnett College
678-849-5554dmason@ggc.edu
Peter Mastopoulos Savannah State University
912-658-2213mastopoulosp@savannahstate.edu
Sarah Mergel Dalton State College
706-272-2675smergel@daltonstate.edu
Chris Meyers Valdosta State University
229-333-5947cmeyers@valdosta.edu
Laura Mullins University of North Georgia
706-864-1771laura.mullins@ung.edu
Keith Pacholl University of West Georgia
678-839-6044kpacholl@westga.edu
Carrie Pitzulo University of West Georgia
678-839-6037cpitzulo@westga.edu
Russell Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
0rpryor@abac.edu
Rick Reiman South Georgia State College
912-260-4247rreiman@sgsc.edu
Ben Robinson University of North Georgia
404-962-3064ben.robinson@usg.edu
Pamela T. Roseman Georgia Perimeter College
678-644-8933pamroseman46@gmail.com
Scott Shubitz Gordon State College
678-359-5125sshubitz@gordonstate.edu
David Snow University of North Georgia
404-576-3439david.snow@usg.edu
Tamara Spike University of North Georgia
706-864-1912tamara.spike@ung.edu
Jessica Lynn Taylor-Lewis University of North Georgia
678-717-3627jessica.taylor@ung.edu
Jess Alan Usher Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5415jusher@abac.edu
Eugene Van Sickle University of North Georgia
706-864-1911eugene.vansickle@ung.edu
Daenel Vaughn-Tucker Albany State University
229-317-6762daenel.vaughntucker@asurams.edu
Stacey Watson Gordon State College
678-359-5386swatson@gordonstate.edu
Seth Weitz Dalton State College
706-272-2688sweitz@daltonstate.edu
Jennifer Welch Egas University of West Georgia
678-839-6508jegas@westga.edu
Charles Trey Wilson University of North Georgia
706-864-1909charles.wilson@ung.edu
Montgomery Wolf University of Georgia
706-542-2053mwolf@uga.edu
Mary Wolfe Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2063mary.wolfe@mga.edu
Elizabeth Worley Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
eworley@abac.edu
Andrew Wright Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3060andrew.wright@mga.edu
Matthew Zimmerman Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2862matthew.zimmerman@mga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify and evaluate the major controversies, issues, personalities, problems and trends in U.S. history up to 1865.
  • Evaluate trends and issues in intellectual and cultural history and be able to relate them to topics in U.S. History.
  • Determine the relationship between local and national issues and events.
  • Place issues and events of U.S. History in a global context.
  • Analyze the trials and contributions of the many cultures that make up American society.
  • Recognize the role of diversity in American society.
  • Exhibit comprehension of the historical process of continuity and change.
  • Appraise how and why the historical interpretations of the controversies, issues, personalities, and problems have changed over time.
  • Analyze the extent to which historical and contemporary American society has embraced the ideals of the Colonial, Revolutionary, and Constitutional periods.
  • Describe the ways geography has impacted historical processes.
  • Read and interpret maps.
  • Develop skills in critical thinking, collaboration, and organization.
  • Undertake research using a variety of materials.
  • Differentiate between primary and secondary sources.
  • Analyze, synthesize, and interpret primary and secondary sources and clearly communicate results using a variety of media.
  • Formulate a convincing historical argument using primary and secondary sources.
  • Unit 1 - Collision of Cultures
  • Unit 2 - The English Colonies
  • Unit 3 - The American Revolution
  • Unit 4 - The New Nation
  • Unit 5 - The Expanding Nation
  • Unit 6 - A House Divided

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 20%
  • Unit Quizzes – 20%
  • Essays – 30%
  • Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final – 15%
Back to Top