Courses


Course Descriptions

Survey of World History I - HIST 1111

Description

A survey of world history to early modern times.


Name Office Phone Email
Harry Akoh Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4716hakoh@atlm.edu
Eugene Berger Georgia Gwinnett College
404-823-3649eberger@ggc.edu
Haider Bhuiyan University of North Georgia
706-310-6254haider.bhuiyan@ung.edu
Steve Blankenship Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8026sblanken@highlands.edu
Robert Bob Bouwman University of North Georgia
864-944-2320robert.bouwman@ung.edu
Renee Bricker University of North Georgia
706-864-1905renee.bricker@ung.edu
Michelle Brock University of North Georgia
706-864-1522michelle.brock@ung.edu
Irmtraud Eve Burianek Georgia Perimeter College
678-891-3360iburianek@gsu.edu
Ashleigh Dean Gordon State College
678-359-5395adean@gordonstate.edu
Thomas M. Deaton Dalton State College
423-894-7502tdeaton@daltonstate.edu
Amy Dilmar Columbus State University
dilmar_amy@columbusstate.edu
Jayme Feagin Georgia Highlands College
678-469-3747jfeagin@highlands.edu
Melissa Franklin Bainbridge State College
229-243-3170melissa.franklin@bainbridge.edu
Kristen Griffin University of West Georgia
678-839-6508kgriffin@westga.edu
Christian Griggs Dalton State College
706-272-4602cagriggs@daltonstate.edu
Victoria Hightower University of North Georgia
706-867-2561victoria.hightower@ung.edu
Larry Israel Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2400larry.israel@mga.edu
Erica Johnson Gordon State College
678-359-5381ejohnson@gordonstate.edu
Michael Kirkland Bainbridge State College
229-248-2560mkirkland@bainbridge.edu
Cathy Locks Fort Valley State University
478-718-7753clocks@westga.edu
Erik Love University of North Georgia
770-841-4161Erik.Love@ung.edu
Charlotte Miller Middle Georgia State University
478-471-2997charlotte.miller@mga.edu
Laura Mullins University of North Georgia
706-864-1771laura.mullins@ung.edu
Michael Proulx University of North Georgia
706-867-3510michael.proulx@ung.edu
Tracie Provost Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3033tracie.provost@mga.edu
Lisa Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5156lseibert@abac.edu
Andrew Reeves Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3561andrew.reeves1@mga.edu
Eugene "Bo" Slack Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
nabslack@worthschools.net
Tamara Spike University of North Georgia
706-864-1912tamara.spike@ung.edu
Jessica Lynn Taylor-Lewis University of North Georgia
678-717-3627jessica.taylor@ung.edu
Hongjie Wang Georgia Southern University
912-344-3130hongjiewang@georgiasouthern.edu
Seth Weitz Dalton State College
706-272-2688sweitz@daltonstate.edu
Jennifer Welch Egas University of West Georgia
678-839-6508jegas@westga.edu
Nadejda Williams University of West Georgia
678-839-5370nwilliam@westga.edu
Charles Trey Wilson University of North Georgia
706-864-1909charles.wilson@ung.edu
Frank Winters Gordon State College
678-359-5396fwinters@gordonstate.edu
Andrew Wright Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3060andrew.wright@mga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Explain the importance of geography and how geography can impact historical events, issues, and processes.
  • Read, interpret and effectively use maps, including the interactive maps in this course, to answer historical questions.
  • Identify and evaluate the important historical political, cultural, social and economic movements, historical figures, and events that characterize the development of the great world civilizations from antiquity through the 1500 C.E.
  • Explain the ways in which history is both an art and a science.
  • Analyze various interpretations of world historical events, figures, and issues and explain the ways and the reasons why these interpretations have changed over time.
  • Demonstrate an awareness of the relationship of events across cultures, and chronologically order historical events both in the context of the culture in which they occurred as well as in the context of global civilizations.
  • Write well-developed and logically organized analytical essays.
  • Demonstrate critical thinking skills in reading and writing assignments, including the ability to analyze, synthesize, and interpret primary and secondary sources.
  • Distinguish between primary and secondary sources, and analyze at least five major issues using appropriate sources and historical methodology.
  • Identify at least three other types of resources besides written records that historians may use to study the past and explain their use to enlighten historical questions using at least three different issues.
  • Identify the major historiographical issues associated with the significant time periods, cultures, figures, and events from antiquity through 1500 C.E.
  • Identify the major centers of world civilization and their most important characteristics in Europe, the Near and Far East, Africa and the Americas from antiquity through 1500 C.E.
  • Identify, using at least three examples, the ways in which world civilizations and cultures interacted with and influenced one and another from antiquity through 1500 C.E.
  • Unit 1: Course Introduction
  • Unit 2: Prehistory & Early Civilizations
  • Unit 3: India
  • Unit 4: China & East Asia
  • Unit 5: The Greek World
  • Unit 6: The Roman World
  • Unit 7: Western Europe, Byzantium, and Islam circa 500-1000 CE
  • Unit 8: Africa
  • Unit 9: The Americas
  • Unit 10: Central Asia and Western Europe & Byzantium circa 1000-1500 CE

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Participation/Discussions – 30%
  • Quizzes – 30%
  • Essays and Short Answer Assignments – 10%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%
Back to Top