Courses


Course Descriptions

Survey of World History II - HIST 1112

Description

A survey of world history from 1500 to modern times.


Name Office Phone Email
Harry Akoh Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4716hakoh@atlm.edu
Anita Anderson Georgia Gwinnett College
aanderson32@ggc.edu
Haider Bhuiyan University of North Georgia
706-310-6254haider.bhuiyan@ung.edu
Renee Bricker University of North Georgia
706-864-1905renee.bricker@ung.edu
Michelle Brock University of North Georgia
706-864-1522michelle.brock@ung.edu
Edward "Ted" Butler Albany State University
229-317-6807edward.butler@asurams.edu
Alisha Cromwell University of North Georgia
Alisha.Cromwell@ung.edu
Ashleigh Dean Gordon State College
678-359-5395adean@gordonstate.edu
Jayme Feagin Georgia Highlands College
678-469-3747jfeagin@highlands.edu
Jonathan Henderson University of North Georgia
nahenderson678@yahoo.com
Tully Hunter University of West Georgia
presrev1@gmail.com
Michael Kirkland Bainbridge State College
229-248-2560mkirkland@bainbridge.edu
Erik Love University of North Georgia
770-841-4161Erik.Love@ung.edu
Laura Mullins University of North Georgia
706-864-1771laura.mullins@ung.edu
Tracie Provost Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3033tracie.provost@mga.edu
Lisa Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5156lseibert@abac.edu
Russell Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
0rpryor@abac.edu
Pamela T. Roseman Georgia Perimeter College
678-644-8933pamroseman46@gmail.com
Jess Alan Usher Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5415jusher@abac.edu
Gary Van Valen University of West Georgia
678-839-6489gvanvale@westga.edu
Colleen Vasconcellos University of West Georgia
678-839-6032cvasconc@westga.edu
Hongjie Wang Georgia Southern University
912-344-3130hongjiewang@georgiasouthern.edu
Christopher Ward Clayton State University
678-466-4811ChristopherWard@clayton.edu
Frank Winters Gordon State College
678-359-5396fwinters@gordonstate.edu
Kathleen Woodward University of North Georgia
678-468-0336kathleen.woodward@ung.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook

  • No textbook. Readings are embedded inside the course.

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify, discuss, and make connections between key moments, themes, and individuals (such as the Reformation, Indian Ocean System, Atlantic Revolutions, Industrial Revolution, Nationalism, Imperialism, and decolonization) in the modern world since 1500. Identify and analyze how the factors of race, class, gender, and ethnicity shaped the modern world since 1500.
  • Recognize instances of collaboration and resistance with the dominant political systems (revolutions, anti-slavery, and anti-imperial protests and riots).
  • Generate a carefully constructed and persuasive historical interpretation in an essay that shows understanding of the developments across political and/or social boundaries.
  • Course Introduction
  • Unit 1: Geographies of Power
  • Unit 2: Intellectual Change from the 15th to 17th Century
  • Unit 3: Comparative Expansion
  • Unit 4: Political & Intellectual Change in the 19th Century
  • Unit 5: Industrial Revolution
  • Unit 6: Imperialism
  • Unit 7: Global Wars & Change in the 20th Century
  • Unit 8: Decolonization, Independence, & Post-Cold War

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Unit Discussions - 30%
  • Unit Quizzes - 20%
  • Essays - 20%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Final Exam - 15%
Back to Top