Courses


Course Descriptions

Survey of World History II - HIST 1112

Description

A survey of world history from 1500 to modern times.


Name Office Phone Email
Marshall Abuwi Augusta University
706-737-1745ungemailtocome
Harry Akoh Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4716hakoh@atlm.edu
Anita Anderson Georgia Gwinnett College
aanderson32@ggc.edu
Candice Badgero University of West Georgia
clarson@westga.edu
Haider Bhuiyan University of North Georgia
706-310-6254haider.bhuiyan@ung.edu
Renee Bricker University of North Georgia
706-864-1905renee.bricker@ung.edu
Michelle Brock University of North Georgia
706-864-1522michelle.brock@ung.edu
Drew Burks University of North Georgia
drew.burks@ung.edu
Ted Butler University of North Georgia
229-317-6807edward.butler@ung.edu
Alisha Cromwell University of North Georgia
Alisha.Cromwell@ung.edu
Ashleigh Dean Gordon State College
678-359-5395adean@gordonstate.edu
Jayme Feagin Georgia Highlands College
678-469-3747jfeagin@highlands.edu
Jonathan Henderson University of North Georgia
najonathan.henderson@ung.edu
Tully Hunter University of North Georgia
Tully.Hunter@ung.edu
William Michael Kirkland Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-248-2560mkirkland@abac.edu
Cathy Locks University of West Georgia
478-718-7753clocks@westga.edu
Bronson Long Georgia Highlands College
blong@highlands.edu
Erik Love University of North Georgia
770-841-4161Erik.Love@ung.edu
Rachel Mittelman Gordon State College
rmittelman@gordonstate.edu
Laura Mullins University of North Georgia
706-864-1771laura.mullins@ung.edu
Tracie Provost Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3033tracie.provost@mga.edu
Lisa Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5156lisa.pryor@abac.edu
James Pryor Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
0rpryor@abac.edu
Pamela T. Roseman Georgia Perimeter College
678-644-8933pamroseman46@gmail.com
Steven Shirley University of North Georgia
steven.shirley@ung.edu
Jodie Talley Knapton University of North Georgia
jodie.knapton@ung.edu
Jess Alan Usher Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-5415jusher@abac.edu
Gary Van Valen University of West Georgia
678-839-6489gvanvale@westga.edu
Colleen Vasconcellos University of West Georgia
678-839-6032cvasconc@westga.edu
Hongjie Wang Georgia Southern University
912-344-3130hongjiewang@georgiasouthern.edu
Chris Ward Clayton State University
678-466-4811christopherward@clayton.edu
Franklin Williamson Gordon State College
fwilliamson@gordonstate.edu
Frank Winters Gordon State College
678-359-5396fwinters@gordonstate.edu
Kathleen Woodward University of North Georgia
678-468-0336kathleen.woodward@ung.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify, discuss, and make connections between key moments, themes, and individuals (such as the Reformation, Indian Ocean System, Atlantic Revolutions, Industrial Revolution, Nationalism, Imperialism, and decolonization) in the modern world since 1500. Identify and analyze how the factors of race, class, gender, and ethnicity shaped the modern world since 1500.
  • Recognize instances of collaboration and resistance with the dominant political systems (revolutions, anti-slavery, and anti-imperial protests and riots).
  • Generate a carefully constructed and persuasive historical interpretation in an essay that shows understanding of the developments across political and/or social boundaries.
  • Unit 1: Geographies of Power
  • Unit 2: Early Modern Civilizations
  • Unit 3: Comparative Expansion
  • Unit 4: The Enlightenment and the Age of Revolutions
  • Unit 5: The Industrial Revolution
  • Unit 6: Modern Imperialism
  • Unit 7: The World Wars and the Cold War
  • Unit 8: Toward the 21st Century

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance - 1%
  • Participation-Discussion - 30%
  • Quizzes - 20%
  • Reflections - 6%
  • Essays & Assignments - 28%
  • Final Project Part 1 - 5%
  • Final Project Part 2 - 10%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.