Courses


Course Descriptions

World Literature I - ENGL 2111

Description

A survey of important works of world literature from ancient times through the mid-seventeenth century.


Name Office Phone Email
Jennifer Betts-Barfield Valdosta State University
229-333-5424jdbetts@valdosta.edu
Rob Bleil College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5986rbleil@ccga.edu
Frank Brevik Savannah State University
912-358-3344brevikf@savannahstate.edu
Leverett Butts University of North Georgia
678-717-3521leverett.butts@ung.edu
Ruth Caillouet Clayton State University
678-466-4741RuthCaillouet@clayton.edu
Rhonda Crombie Middle Georgia State University
478-274-7831rhonda.crombie@mga.edu
Lennet Daigle University of North Georgia
252-864-1100daigle.len@gmail.com
Michael J. Davey Valdosta State University
229-333-5946mjdavey@valdosta.edu
Rachel Dean-Ruzicka Georgia Institute of Technology
419-352-6425rdeanruzicka@gmail.com
Anna Dewart College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5957adewart@ccga.edu
Brittney Drummon University of West Georgia
678-839-4855bdrummon@westga.edu
Lorraine Dubuisson Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3374lorraine.dubuisson@mga.edu
Diana Edelman University of North Georgia
678-717-1583diana.edelman@ung.edu
Patrick Erben University of West Georgia
perben@westga.edu
Chad Faries Savannah State University
912-358-3329fariesc@savannahstate.edu
Nathanael Gilbert Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3529nathanael.gilbert@mga.edu
Barbara Goodman Clayton State University
678-466-4711barbaragoodman@clayton.edu
Nat Hardy Savannah State University
912-358-3341hardyn@savannahstate.edu
Emily Hipchen University of West Georgia
706-957-0264ehipchen@westga.edu
Anna Holloway Fort Valley State University
478-825-6392hollowaa@fvsu.edu
Angela Insenga University of West Georgia
678-839-4864ainsenga@westga.edu
Rhonda Kelley South Georgia State College
912-260-4303rhonda.kelley@sgsc.edu
Alan Kelly Georgia Gwinnett College
678-939-9276akelly@ggc.edu
Jeffrey Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8126jkozee@highlands.edu
Betty Laface Bainbridge State College
229-248-3939betty.laface@bainbridge.edu
Karmen Lenz Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5746karmen.lenz@mga.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
Jade Loicano University of West Georgia
678-839-4744jadel@westga.edu
Mary Mears Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5717mary.mears@mga.edu
Dustin Michael Savannah State University
912-306-4902michaeld@savannahstate.edu
Joseph "Joe" Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Phillip Mitchell University of North Georgia
470-310-6313phillip.mitchell@ung.edu
Clay Morton Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5750clay.morton@mga.edu
David Mulry College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5811dmulry@ccga.edu
Neesha Navare Savannah State University
912-358-3325navaren@savannahstate.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Robert Pfeiffer Clayton State University
678-466-4743robertpfeiffer@clayton.edu
Lydia Postell Dalton State College
706-272-2584lpostell@daltonstate.edu
Kokila Ravi Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4704kravi@atlm.edu
Brian Ray Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4969bray@abac.edu
Pete Rorabaugh Kennesaw State University
404-413-5043proraba1@kennesaw.edu
Virginia Russell Georgia Southern University
912-536-3964va.russell@hotmail.com
Kevin Scott Albany State University
229-430-4689kevin.scott@asurams.edu
Matthew Sherling University of West Georgia
770-833-7163msherlin@westga.edu
Nancy Sherrod archive
912-344-2591nancy.sherrod@armstrong.edu
Laura Thomason Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5765Laura.thomason@mga.edu
Doug Thomson Georgia Southern University
912-478-5779dhthom@georgiasouthern.edu
Barbara Warren Valdosta State University
229-333-5946bnwarren@valdosta.edu
Ashleigh Whelan Georgia Perimeter College
404-694-9042Ashleigh.is.scissors@gmail.com
Kathy Whitaker East Georgia State College
912-623-2441whitaker@ega.edu
Paul Wise University of West Georgia
678-839-6512pmwise@westga.edu
Helen Wishart Valdosta State University
229-249-4868hawishar@valdosta.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook


Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Extend reading, writing, and critical thinking skills developed in ENGL 1101 and ENGL 1102.
  • Develop a perspective on the variety of world cultures from ancient times through the early-modern period to understand how these cultures developed and how their ideas contributed to and still inform contemporary cultures.
  • Recognize the range of literary genres and conventions as well as the levels of sophistication of literary masterpieces coming from different cultures.
  • Analyze and evaluate literary works in their social, historical, and cultural context.
  • Compare and contrast the characteristics of literary works emerging from various cultures and times in order to recognize common human values and beliefs.
  • Investigate the effect literature, as a technology, has had on the history of ideas and aesthetics.
  • Engage technology and media effectively in the learning process.
  • Participate as an effective member in a collaborative online community.
  • Unit 1: Creation Stories and Flood Narratives
  • Unit 2: Ancient Middle East & Far East
  • Unit 3: Greece
  • Unit 4: Rome
  • Unit 5: Medieval I
  • Unit 6: Medieval II
  • Unit 7: European Renaissance
  • Unit 8: The Encounter of Europe with the New World

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • 9 Quizzes - 15%
  • 8 Discussions - 40%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Writing Assignment 1 - 10%
  • Writing Assignment 2 - 10%
  • Final Essay - 10%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.

Back to Top