Courses


Course Descriptions

World Literature I - ENGL 2111

Description

A survey of important works of world literature from ancient times through the mid-seventeenth century.


Name Office Phone Email
Erin Andersen University of North Georgia
706-864-1775erin.andersen@ung.edu
Pamela Arlov Middle Georgia State University
pamela.arlov@mga.edu
Andrew Attana University of North Georgia
andrew.attana@ung.edu
Krista Attana University of North Georgia
krista.debehnke@ung.edu
Jennifer Barfield Valdosta State University
229-333-5424jdbetts@valdosta.edu
Rob Bleil College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5986rbleil@ccga.edu
Frank Brevik Savannah State University
912-358-3344brevikf@savannahstate.edu
Leverett Butts University of North Georgia
678-717-3521leverett.butts@ung.edu
Ruth Caillouet Clayton State University
678-466-4741RuthCaillouet@clayton.edu
Joshua Commander University of North Georgia
joshua.commander@ung.edu
Micheal Crafton University of North Georgia
john.crafton@ung.edu
Rhonda Crombie Middle Georgia State University
478-274-7831rhonda.crombie@mga.edu
Lennet Daigle University of North Georgia
252-864-1100daigle.len@gmail.com
Michael J. Davey Valdosta State University
229-333-5946mjdavey@valdosta.edu
Kimberly Davidson University of North Georgia
kimberly.davidson@ung.edu
Rachel Dean-Ruzicka Georgia Institute of Technology
419-352-6425rdeanruzicka@gmail.com
Jason Dew Georgia State University
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Anna Dewart College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5957adewart@ccga.edu
Brittney Beth Drummond University of West Georgia
678-839-4855bdrummon@westga.edu
Lorraine Dubuisson Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3374lorraine.dubuisson@mga.edu
Diana Edelman University of North Georgia
678-717-1583diana.edelman@ung.edu
Jonathan Elmore Savannah State University
912-358-3348elmorej@savannahstate.edu
Patrick Erben University of West Georgia
perben@westga.edu
Chad Faries Savannah State University
912-358-3329fariesc@savannahstate.edu
Nathanael Gilbert Middle Georgia State University
478-934-3529nathanael.gilbert@mga.edu
Barbara Goodman Clayton State University
678-466-4711barbaragoodman@clayton.edu
Wendy Grisham University of West Georgia
678-839-5288wendy.grisham@usg.edu
Nat Hardy University of North Georgia
912-358-3341nat.hardy@ung.edu
Jenna Harte University of West Georgia
678-839-4880jharte@westga.edu
Emily Hipchen University of West Georgia
706-957-0264ehipchen@westga.edu
Anna Holloway Fort Valley State University
478-825-6392hollowaa@fvsu.edu
Angela Insenga University of West Georgia
678-839-4864ainsenga@westga.edu
Annliss Jordan East Georgia State College
annliss.jordan@ega.edu
Rhonda Kelley South Georgia State College
912-260-4303rhonda.kelley@sgsc.edu
Alan Keith Kelly Georgia Gwinnett College
678-939-9276akelly@ggc.edu
Jeff Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8126jkozee@highlands.edu
Christian Kraus East Georgia State College
ckraus@ega.edu
Elizabeth Kuipers Albany State University
elizabeth.kuipers@asurams.edu
Betty LaFace Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-248-3939betty.laface@abac.edu
Karmen Lenz Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5746karmen.lenz@mga.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
Jade Loicano University of West Georgia
678-839-4744jadel@westga.edu
Mary Mears Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5717mary.mears@mga.edu
Dustin Michael Savannah State University
912-306-4902michaeld@savannahstate.edu
Joseph Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Phillip Mitchell University of North Georgia
470-310-6313phillip.mitchell@ung.edu
Derrilyn Morrison Middle Georgia State University
derrilyn.morrison@mga.edu
Clay Morton Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5750clay.morton@mga.edu
David Mulry College of Coastal Georgia
912-279-5811dmulry@ccga.edu
Neesha Navare-Michael University of North Georgia
912-358-3325neesha.navaremichael@ung.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Robert Pfeiffer Clayton State University
678-466-4743robertpfeiffer@clayton.edu
Lydia Postell Dalton State College
706-272-2584lpostell@daltonstate.edu
Rachael Price Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
rprice@abac.edu
Kokila Ravi Atlanta Metropolitan State College
404-756-4704kravi@atlm.edu
Brian Ray Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4969bray@abac.edu
Karen Redding University of North Georgia
706-310-6325karen.redding@ung.edu
Pete Rorabaugh Kennesaw State University
404-413-5043proraba1@kennesaw.edu
Virginia Russell Georgia Southern University
912-536-3964va.russell@hotmail.com
Kevin Scott Albany State University
229-430-4689kevin.scott@asurams.edu
Matthew Sherling University of West Georgia
770-833-7163msherlin@westga.edu
Nancy Sherrod archive
912-344-2591nancy.sherrod@armstrong.edu
Amanda Shoemake University of West Georgia
678-922-9126amandas@westga.edu
Laura Thomason Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5765Laura.thomason@mga.edu
Doug Thomson Georgia Southern University
912-478-5779dhthom@georgiasouthern.edu
Shane Trayers Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5793shane.trayers@mga.edu
Barbara Warren Valdosta State University
229-333-5946bnwarren@valdosta.edu
Ashleigh Whelan University of North Georgia
404-694-9042ashleigh-brooke.whelan@ung.edu
Kathy Whitaker East Georgia State College
912-623-2441whitaker@ega.edu
Frank Williams Savannah State University
912-358-4158williamsf@savannahstate.edu
Paul Wise University of West Georgia
678-839-6512pmwise@westga.edu
Helen Wishart Valdosta State University
229-249-4868hawishar@valdosta.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Extend reading, writing, and critical thinking skills developed in ENGL 1101 and ENGL 1102.
  • Develop a perspective on the variety of world cultures from ancient times through the early-modern period to understand how these cultures developed and how their ideas contributed to and still inform contemporary cultures.
  • Recognize the range of literary genres and conventions as well as the levels of sophistication of literary masterpieces coming from different cultures.
  • Analyze and evaluate literary works in their social, historical, and cultural context.
  • Compare and contrast the characteristics of literary works emerging from various cultures and times in order to recognize common human values and beliefs.
  • Investigate the effect literature, as a technology, has had on the history of ideas and aesthetics.
  • Engage technology and media effectively in the learning process.
  • Participate as an effective member in a collaborative online community.
  • Unit 1: Introduction to the Course and Gilgamesh
  • Unit 2: Ramayana
  • Unit 3: The Odyssey
  • Unit 4: Shahnameh
  • Unit 5: Inferno
  • Unit 6: Sundiata
  • Unit 7: Popul Vuh

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance - 1%
  • Discussions (Main) - 50%
  • Plagiarism & Unit Quizzes - 20%
  • Other Writing Assignments / Essays - 19%
  • Major Project - 10%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.