Courses


Course Descriptions

World Literature II – ENGL 2112

Description

A survey of important works of world literature from the mid-seventeenth century to the present.


Name Office Phone Email
Frank Brevik Savannah State University
912-358-3344brevikf@savannahstate.edu
Ruth Caillouet Clayton State University
678-466-4741RuthCaillouet@clayton.edu
Jason Dew Georgia State University - Perimeter College
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Karen Dodson University of North Georgia
678-717-3870karen.dodson@ung.edu
Diana Edelman University of North Georgia
678-717-1583diana.edelman@ung.edu
Chad Faries Savannah State University
912-358-3329fariesc@savannahstate.edu
Ann Marie Francis University of North Georgia
470-239-3116annmarie.francis@ung.edu
Nat Hardy Savannah State University
912-358-3341hardyn@savannahstate.edu
Anna Holloway Fort Valley State University
478-825-6392hollowaa@fvsu.edu
Kyounghye Kwon University of North Georgia
614-946-6352kyounghye.kwon@ung.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
Laura McKee University of West Georgia
678-839-4965lmckee@westga.edu
Dustin Michael Savannah State University
912-306-4902michaeld@savannahstate.edu
Joseph "Joe" Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Phillip Mitchell University of North Georgia
470-310-6313phillip.mitchell@ung.edu
Neesha Navare Savannah State University
912-358-3325navaren@savannahstate.edu
William Jim Owen Columbus State University
706-565-3602owen_jim@columbusstate.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Brian Ray Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4969bray@abac.edu
Austin Riede University of North Georgia
naAustin.Riede@ung.edu
Kevin Scott Albany State University
229-430-4689kevin.scott@asurams.edu
Amelia Simmons East Georgia State College
478-289-2183ajsimmons@ega.edu
Elizabeth Lee Steere University of West Georgia
678-839-6512esteere@westga.edu
Ashleigh Whelan Georgia Perimeter College
404-694-9042Ashleigh.is.scissors@gmail.com
Paul Wise University of West Georgia
678-839-6512pmwise@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Textbook

  • FREE

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate the ability to compare, contrast and understand diverse literary texts, authors, and genres.
  • Analyze themes and ideas pertinent to World Literature from the mid-seventeenth century to the present.
  • Comprehend how historical or literary movements shape our understanding of literature.
  • Unit 1 - Introduction
  • UNIT 2 - Analyzing Literary Genres and History
  • UNIT 3 - Literature of the Later Early Modern Period
  • UNIT 4 - Literature of the Enlightenment
  • UNIT 5 - Colonialism and Expansionism Literature
  • UNIT 6 - Literature of the Industrial Revolution
  • UNIT 7 - Modernism and Post-War Literature
  • UNIT 8 - Postmodern and Postcolonial Literature

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Discussions and Participation – 35%
  • Writing Assignments (2) – 30%
  • Proctored Midterm Exam – 15%
  • Final Researched Essay – 20%
Back to Top