Courses


Course Descriptions

World Literature II – ENGL 2112

Description

A survey of important works of world literature from the mid-seventeenth century to the present.


Name Office Phone Email
Frank Brevik Savannah State University
912-358-3344brevikf@savannahstate.edu
Joshua Commander University of North Georgia
joshua.commander@ung.edu
Rachel Dean-Ruzicka Georgia Institute of Technology
419-352-6425rdeanruzicka@gmail.com
Laine Derr University of North Georgia
laine.derr@ung.edu
Jason Dew Georgia State University
770-274-5489jdew@gsu.edu
Karen Dodson University of North Georgia
678-717-3870karen.dodson@ung.edu
Ashley Dycus University of West Georgia
770-900-4226adycus@westga.edu
Diana Edelman University of North Georgia
678-717-1583diana.edelman@ung.edu
Chad Faries Savannah State University
912-358-3329fariesc@savannahstate.edu
Ann Marie Francis University of North Georgia
470-239-3116annmarie.francis@ung.edu
Nat Hardy University of North Georgia
912-358-3341nat.hardy@ung.edu
Marina von Hirsch Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
marina.vonhirsch@abac.edu
Anna Holloway Fort Valley State University
478-825-6392hollowaa@fvsu.edu
Napolita Hooper-Simonga University of West Georgia
678-891-3970nhooper@westga.edu
Calley Hornbuckle Dalton State College
chornbuckle@daltonstate.edu
Joseph Jones Gordon State College
jjones1@gordonstate.edu
Annliss Jordan East Georgia State College
annliss.jordan@ega.edu
Juliet Kozee Georgia Highlands College
678-872-8079jukozee@highlands.edu
Mina Kyounghye Kwon University of North Georgia
614-946-6352mina.kwon@ung.edu
Betty LaFace Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-248-3939betty.laface@abac.edu
Michael Lewis Savannah State University
912-358-3345lewismi@savannahstate.edu
Lisa Lishman University of North Georgia
229-296-3921lisa.lishman@ung.edu
Laura McKee University of West Georgia
678-839-4965lmckee@westga.edu
Dustin Michael Savannah State University
912-306-4902michaeld@savannahstate.edu
Joseph Milford Georgia Highlands College
678-353-9514jmilford@highlands.edu
Phillip Mitchell University of North Georgia
470-310-6313phillip.mitchell@ung.edu
Neesha Navare-Michael University of North Georgia
912-358-3325neesha.navaremichael@ung.edu
Matthew Paproth Georgia Gwinnett College
470-955-2473mpaproth@ggc.edu
Brian Ray Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
229-391-4969bray@abac.edu
Austin Riede University of North Georgia
naAustin.Riede@ung.edu
Lydia Rogers Georgia Southwestern State University
lydia.rogers@gsw.edu
Kevin Scott Albany State University
229-430-4689kevin.scott@asurams.edu
Elizabeth Steere University of North Georgia
678-839-6512elizabeth.steere@ung.edu
Lisa Terrene Dalton State College
lterrene@daltonstate.edu
Shane Trayers Middle Georgia State University
478-471-5793shane.trayers@mga.edu
Paul Wise University of West Georgia
678-839-6512pmwise@westga.edu
3

Credit Hours


Prerequisites

  • See your home institution's prerequisite requirement.

Free Textbook

  • Open educational resources (OER)

Course Equivalency

After completing this course, you will be able to

  • Demonstrate the ability to compare, contrast and understand diverse literary texts, authors, and genres.
  • Analyze themes and ideas pertinent to World Literature from the mid-seventeenth century to the present.
  • Comprehend how historical or literary movements shape our understanding of literature.
  • Unit 1: Introduction – World Literature Reading and Writing Guidance
  • Unit 2: Literature of the Enlightenment
  • Unit 3: Early Modern Near East and Asia
  • Unit 4: An Age of Revolutions – Romanticism
  • Unit 5: An Age of Revolutions – Realism
  • Unit 6: Modernity and Modernism
  • Unit 7: Postmodernism, Postcolonialism and Magical Realism
  • Unit 8: Contemporary Literature

Your final grade will be based on the following breakdown. Please note that each instructor may choose to make modifications.

  • Attendance - 1%
  • Participation & Discussion - 24%
  • Final Researched Character Analysis - 20%
  • Writing Assignments - 30%
  • Midterm Exam - 15%
  • Major Project - Unit 4 Video Assignment - 10%

We use cookies on this site to offer a better browsing experience, perform analytics, personalized advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent, visit our Cookie Policy.